We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor Audiobook

The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Following in the footsteps of the New York Times best-selling graphic novels and the record-breaking new television show, this debut novel in a trilogy of original Walking Dead books chronicles the back story of the comic book series' greatest villain, The Governor.

In the Walking Dead universe, there is no greater villain than The Governor. The despot who runs the walled-off town of Woodbury, he has his own sick sense of justice: whether it’s forcing prisoners to battle zombies in an arena for the townspeople’s amusement, or chopping off the appendages of those who cross him. The Governor was voted “Villain of the Year” by Wizard magazine the year he debuted, and his story arc was the most controversial arc in the history of The Walking Dead comic book series. Now, for the first time, fans of The Walking Dead will discover how The Governor became the man he is, and what drove him to such extremes.

©2011 Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga (P)2011 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

“If the comic book writer Robert Kirkman were a superhero, his name might be the Midas Touch.” (The New York Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (1278 )
5 star
 (672)
4 star
 (392)
3 star
 (151)
2 star
 (36)
1 star
 (27)
Overall
4.3 (1171 )
5 star
 (629)
4 star
 (338)
3 star
 (141)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (24)
Story
4.4 (1170 )
5 star
 (706)
4 star
 (312)
3 star
 (112)
2 star
 (22)
1 star
 (18)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Marco Italy 08-13-13
    Marco Italy 08-13-13 Member Since 2015

    Fantasy geek, literature lover!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well done, maybe sometimes too overwhelming"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I'd reccomend it to anyone who likes the TV show in particular and the comics too. The book evokes the world of despair and


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Brian, its "descent" into villainy. Philip is just a tad too crazy.


    What three words best describe Fred Berman’s performance?

    His performance as Philip was too much "cooked", if you get my meaning. He seems always on the point of breaking, it's just too much. Well done as for Nick and the Chalmer sisters. The Penny-Brian relationship too.


    Did The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor inspire you to do anything?

    No, please... I'd be seriously worried if it had!


    Any additional comments?

    OK the southern accent: marked but still understandable for us not US residents. Berman's a professional, of course, and he does his job with a certain skill. His Philip was really annoying, sometimes too much.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Justin 07-16-13
    Justin 07-16-13 Listener Since 2007

    Just love listing to audiobooks. Some of my favorite authors are Vince Flynn and Brad Thor

    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just a really good Zombie book"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, if you love just really good zombie books this is for you. Also, if your a fan of the show you will love it as well


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Brian, his development threw out the hole book.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The final scene.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Just a great movie for the zombie fan!!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erik 05-19-13
    Erik 05-19-13 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"
    Where does The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    One of my favorite books listened to it twice now.


    What about Fred Berman’s performance did you like?

    I've read the actual book and I liked it but Berman's performance made me love it very well done


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Siska 05-14-13
    Siska 05-14-13 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    66
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    33
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Starts off strong, but fizzles in the middle."
    What made the experience of listening to The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor the most enjoyable?

    The narrator did an amazing job bringing the characters to life. Each personality sounded unique and he was capable of translating the emotional turmoil the characters experience within storyline perfectly!


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    The storyline became a little overwhelming at times, to the point that all their great escapes and small victories felt hurried & un- impressive after a while.
    It truly is a good story, but if you are looking for a book that will leave you with any kind of fondness for the characters that you stared of the journey with; this book is not for you!


    What does Fred Berman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I believe that the audiobook brings a new depth in the characters,specially that of Phil's brother. The audio book narration gives you a even deeper concept of the emotional disarray & confusion this character go's thru, even from before the zombies started to hit the fan.


    If you could rename The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor, what would you call it?

    The walking dead; Death of all hope.
    (corny, but I bet that once you read it; you will understand)


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mel Ft. Worth TX 05-09-13
    Mel Ft. Worth TX 05-09-13 Member Since 2013

    Lover of books with a good plot, strong characters, lots of action, no whiners allowed, and only a small amount of well placed cheese

    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    158
    45
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it, loved it, loved it - Kirkman is a God"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, edgy story line. Great suspence. I couldn't wait to get back to it every time I had to put it down.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor?

    The whole Penny dying part, I knew Philip was going to lose and Brian would pay the price.


    Which character – as performed by Fred Berman – was your favorite?

    Philip


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    If I could have I would have.


    Any additional comments?

    This should be made into a movie - I can't wait to listen to the next one, The Road to Woodbury. I hope it's just as good.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jay Cook Nashville, TN, United States 04-16-13
    Jay Cook Nashville, TN, United States 04-16-13 Member Since 2005

    Spreadhead and Biblioholic.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It'll Help Get You By Until the Series Resumes"

    Okay, so this isn't Tolstoy by any means, or even Stephen King. But it was a diverting read and allows me to cryptically make comments to other Walking Dead fans indicating I know more than they do about The Governor. I had meant this as a temporary break from what I consider more worthwhile reading, but downloaded the second book in the series as soon as I finished the first. I'm trying to space it out since the TV series does not resume til October (would that I had I their work schedule), but I keep hitting the second book like it's a crack pipe.
    In summary, if you aren't a fan of the show OR the genre, steer clear. If you like the genre but have never seen the show, (once you come out of your cave) give this book a try. If you like the genre and the show, I think you'll love the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Max Quebec, QC, Canada 04-12-13
    Max Quebec, QC, Canada 04-12-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book for Walking Dead fans"
    What made the experience of listening to The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor the most enjoyable?

    This is a must read for Walkind Dead fans. Well narrated.


    What did you like best about this story?

    We learn key information about the Governor!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    keith United States 04-02-13
    keith United States 04-02-13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "i loved this book"
    Would you listen to The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor again? Why?

    yes and man its super intense i tell you


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor?

    at the begining when he was in the closet hiding with the little girl


    Have you listened to any of Fred Berman’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    no not yet but whew intense


    If you could take any character from The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    idk i really wanna meet darrel from the show or rick or all of the them


    Any additional comments?

    i have a problem reading i have adhd so i cant focusing and i get bored but i listen to music and its basically the same thing i love listening to books on my phone and this is perfect i recommen this to everyone

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael 03-28-13
    Michael 03-28-13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect for fans of The Walking Dead"

    A great addition to an awesome comic series/ TV series. Narration was superb and story line was captivating. Keeps you intrigued until the very end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jason Patterson, LA, United States 03-21-13
    Jason Patterson, LA, United States 03-21-13 Member Since 2008

    I'm a guy. I like books about war and sci-fi. I listen to 2 or 3 books a week.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    126
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Governors story!"

    Both of these books are about the Governor and his rise to power. Excellent companions if you're a fan of the TV series. Not so good if you don't watch the show!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.