We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing Audiobook

The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing: A Novel

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Mona Simpson, and Jhumpa Lahiri comes a winning, irreverent debut novel about a family wrestling with its future and its past.

With depth, heart, and agility, debut novelist Mira Jacob takes us on a deftly plotted journey that ranges from 1970s India to suburban 1980s New Mexico to Seattle during the dot.com boom. The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing is an epic, irreverent testimony to the bonds of love, the pull of hope, and the power of making peace with life's uncertainties.

Celebrated brain surgeon Thomas Eapen has been sitting on his porch, talking to dead relatives. At least that is the story his wife, Kamala, prone to exaggeration, tells their daughter, Amina, a photographer living in Seattle.

Reluctantly, Amina returns home and finds a situation that is far more complicated than her mother let on, with roots in a trip the family, including Amina's rebellious brother Akhil, took to India 20 years earlier. Confronted by Thomas's unwillingness to explain himself, strange looks from the hospital staff, and a series of puzzling items buried in her mother's garden, Amina soon realizes that the only way she can help her father is by coming to terms with her family's painful past. In doing so, she must reckon with the ghosts that haunt all of the Eapens.

©2014 Mira Jacob (P)2014 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (181 )
5 star
 (89)
4 star
 (49)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.1 (160 )
5 star
 (80)
4 star
 (39)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.3 (160 )
5 star
 (93)
4 star
 (34)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    WPH 02-01-15
    WPH 02-01-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best books I have read in a long time"

    I read a review after reading this book that said that the author pulls the reader into every nuance of Amina's life. The depth of character in this book is alarming and wonderful.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cmlmmomii VA 01-10-15
    Cmlmmomii VA 01-10-15

    Mistymom

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The best book I have read in a long time"

    The story was amazing and I think I loved it more with the author reading. Her different voices for each character became easily recognizable. I am sad it is over.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    k2wier St. Paul, MN USA 03-10-15
    k2wier St. Paul, MN USA 03-10-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wasn't sure"

    I wasn't sure at first, but grew to love the characters.
    The story gave me appreciation for different family dynamics.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kidsleepy 10-08-14
    kidsleepy 10-08-14 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gateway listen!"
    Any additional comments?

    This is the first time I've listened to a full-length fiction title. I listen to tons of podcasts, and I've listened to autobiographies and Freakonomics-style nonfiction, but never a novel. h/t to Laura Hogensen for the rec, and she was right - the author does an excellent job with the voices, and I found myself taking the long way home just so I could listen for a few extra blocks. If you've ever wondered if audiobooks are for you, this should be your gateway listen!

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura sierra vista, AZ, United States 10-01-14
    Laura sierra vista, AZ, United States 10-01-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful family saga and outstanding narration !!"
    If you could sum up The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing in three words, what would they be?

    Moving, Funny, Interesting.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Kamala.She is funny, loving and sounds so genuine.


    Have you listened to any of Mira Jacob’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Unfortunately no. But I'll be on the look out for her next one for sure!


    If you could take any character from The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    Kamala, because her passion is cooking and so is mine. that would make for an interesting conversation.


    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JG Vernon Hills, IL USA 07-08-16
    JG Vernon Hills, IL USA 07-08-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The audio version really enhances the story"
    Where does The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I loved this book so much and the audio version really enhanced the story. Narrated by the author, the accents and inflections added so much to this sweet, touching story. It made my long commute short and I was so sad when it was over.


    What other book might you compare The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing to and why?

    The Namesake - because it provided a glimpse into the similarities and differences of daily life in Indian families


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ABQMIMI Albuquerque, NM USA 03-22-15
    ABQMIMI Albuquerque, NM USA 03-22-15 Member Since 2012

    kathleen2167

    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Written with heart;Narrated Brilliantly"
    What made the experience of listening to The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing the most enjoyable?

    The author's narration was excellent. Loved her acting and accents


    What about Mira Jacob’s performance did you like?

    Her ability to act all of her characters.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Made me laugh in places cry in others.


    Any additional comments?

    The book's characters and their story portray the many shades of love.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R.Reader 08-01-14
    R.Reader 08-01-14

    I don't look anything like that figurine, just love the fact that she's holding a book like that.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    197
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    115
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Good First Effort"

    I purchased this book because they compared the writer to Jhumpa Lahiri - my favorite writer. Besides the fact that they both explore the lives of Indians in America torn between two worlds, and the intricacies of a family - the similarities end there. Although Thomas' story was touching, I didn’t find myself thinking about it once I'd finished the book. And although Akhil's story seemingly came out of left field, I suspect many of us expected it. We can be amused by the "time travel" aspect as we get to hear the thoughts of the character's in their time and we know what eventually happens (garbage bags with handles, phones you can use in your car). But I often found myself wondering how old Amina was at times - like Im 30, and have had my share of "auntys" but none of them are going to twist my ear in reprimand...I'm 30 not 10!
    This is book is long - very long and endlessly meandering, by the end of the book, you would have juggled as many as 7 storylines. Feels like the author couldn’t make up her mind as to which of her character's wants to cater to, so we got a little of everything. This is clear even with the title of the book. They may have compared Mira Jacob's familial exploration to that of Jhumpa Lahiri, but Lahiri's silences scream. Jacob is not quite there yet, but I think she's well on her way. She can tell a story, and that is what makes this book worth the listen.

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    judy ann fogg st. john, usvi United States 09-20-16
    judy ann fogg st. john, usvi United States 09-20-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    365
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WTH Kind of ending was that??????"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I liked the characters they were all interesting! I was so shocked at how quick it ended I thought I had fast forwarded on accident, I might still go back to make sure I didn't!


    If you’ve listened to books by Mira Jacob before, how does this one compare?

    no I haven't, she's a good writer but why the chopped quick ending was she in a hurry to catch a deadline?


    What do you think the narrator could have done better?

    the narrator was great !


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    yes hopefully they would give it a better ending


    Any additional comments?

    I loved the Moms use of the english language always just a tiny bit off but understood!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tracy Kay Griggs 08-10-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a family Story of Love & Pain"

    very well-told story of the unspoken truths that pass in a family and the silences that hide depth of pain, confusion, isolation. And as in most families the coming back together of all the desparate pieces

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.