We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Nations Audiobook

The Nations

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Winner - Laramie Award - Classic Western – 2014
Finalist for the Elmer Kelton Awards.

For fans of Zane Grey, Louis L'Amour, and Elmer Kelton, there's a new marshal in town.

The Nations, also known as "Robber's Roost" and "No-Man's Land", was regarded in the latter part of the nineteenth century as the bloodiest and most dangerous place in the world.

It is the year 1885. A notorious band of outlaws known as the "Larson Gang" has been terrorizing Arkansas, Missouri, and the Nations for years. Judge Issac Parker, the Hanging Judge, orders an all-out concerted effort to capture the gang and bring them to justice.

"If they will not respect the law, then by God we will make them fear it."

Marshal Bass Reeves, the first black U.S. deputy marshal west of the Mississippi, along with his partner, Jack McGann, two other deputies, and two Indian Lighthorse, are tasked to take the youngest member of the gang, Ben Larson, on the treacherous journey to Fort Smith ,with their prisoner shackled to the bed of the Tumbleweed Wagon.

"It is not the severity of the punishment that is the deterrent...but the certainty of it." (Judge Issac C. Parker)

The Nations blends historical and fictional characters to create a fast-paced action Western.

©2012 Ken Farmer & Buck Stienke (P)2014 Ken Farmer & Buck Stienke

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (39 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (35 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.1 (35 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Doran W Ingrham 03-13-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding novel and an Excellent naration."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    YES! Definitely will and have recommended The Nations. The tale is authentic, based on historical facts and is a well blended fictional account. Ken Farmer is a master story teller with years of experience in film and VO work. His talent shines in the audio presentation.


    What other book might you compare The Nations to and why?

    I can not think of any other books other than the rest of the western series written by Ken Farmer and Buck Stienke.


    What does Ken Farmer bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    A deeper sense of being there. In the story. Riding with the outlaws and the good guys as they move through the story.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Don't mess with Bass Reeves. It will get ya dead by hot lead or a hanging rope.


    Any additional comments?

    I'm officially a huge fan of Ken Farmer's audio work. It's a pleasure to hear him spin the yarn.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Don Sunset, UT, United States 02-20-17
    Don Sunset, UT, United States 02-20-17 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    56
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Old School, Traditional Western"

    If you're looking for an old school Western story with really good guys and very bad guys, this is one for you. The narration, provided by one of the book's authors, is perfectly tailored to the tale. I cannot say exactly how much of it is historically accurate, but many of the main characters are real enough, including Bass Reeves. I came to this book specifically looking for a Bass Reeves story and that is what I got ... mostly. But I don't usually read a lot of westerns, not like I used to anyway, and I found myself struggling through at times. I suspect that is more about me than it is about the book. If you like a straight ahead Western told in a straight ahead fashion, you'll probably enjoy this more than I did. Certainly worth a credit either way.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.