We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Egyptologist | [Arthur Phillips]

The Egyptologist

Howard Carter has just made one of the great discoveries of all time, the unveiling of Tutankhamun's tomb. At the same time, Egyptologist Ralph Trilipush finds himself in a slightly less spectacular position. He has staked everything on a scrap of hieroglyphic pornography. Halfway around the world, an Australian detective sets off on a globetrotting quest to find a murderer. Or two. Or three. These events, seemingly unrelated, are about to collide in a spectacular yet utterly unpredictable fashion.
Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Critically acclaimed author Arthur Phillips won the L.A. Times First Fiction Prize for his debut novel, Prague, which landed on top 10 lists across America and was a New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Washington Post, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune best seller. In The Egyptologist, Phillips displays his gift for brilliantly constructed, labyrinthine stories infused with imaginative wit.

Howard Carter has just made one of the great discoveries of all time, the unveiling of Tutankhamun's tomb. At the same time, Egyptologist Ralph Trilipush finds himself in a slightly less spectacular position. He has staked everything on a scrap of hieroglyphic pornography. Halfway around the world, an Australian detective sets off on a globetrotting quest to find a murderer. Or two. Or three. These events, seemingly unrelated, are about to collide in a spectacular yet utterly unpredictable fashion.

©2004 Arthur Phillips; (P)2004 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

"Witty." (The New Yorker
"Vastly entertaining." (Publishers Weekly)
"Phillips proves himself once again to be a wildly creative storyteller." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

2.9 (195 )
5 star
 (34)
4 star
 (34)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (34)
1 star
 (45)
Overall
2.8 (36 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (9)
Story
2.9 (37 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lea Sanford, FL, USA 05-27-05
    Lea Sanford, FL, USA 05-27-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "I gave it another chance and WOW."

    I gave up the first time, but having spent the money on this book, I tried again. I think I wasn't paying attention the first time and the australian detective's voice was grating. But once it clicked in my mind what was happening, I couldn't stop listening. I have also bought the book in print and pick it up to read "the good parts" . Stick with it and you won't be dissappointed. This would be a great movie! The final scenes would be riveting. Even knowing how it ends, I am now re-reading/listening to it. Simon Prebble is brilliant in portraying the mental state of the egyptologist. Stick with it.

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Forrest Millbrae, CA, USA 11-08-04
    Forrest Millbrae, CA, USA 11-08-04
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "An intricately carved plot"

    If you're looking for a cozy Egyptian mystery a la Elizabeth Peters, this is NOT the book for you. If, on the other hand, you're looking for a meticulously structured novel that begins with a mystery but peels away, layer by layer, to expose outrageous egos, debauched jazz-age society, delusions of grandeur and, yes, crime, then check this out. Phillips does an outstanding job of not just telling a story, but creating a world with minute detail and manifold connections. Note that there's a cast of readers, not just one, which can take some getting used to. And as other reviewers have pointed out, some patience and tolerance for seaminess is required. Recommended for those who enjoyed "Devil in the White City," which to me at least hits many of the same chords.

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K.D. Keenan Northern California 11-14-04
    K.D. Keenan Northern California 11-14-04 Member Since 2004

    1emp

    HELPFUL VOTES
    150
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    85
    64
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    "Gee, I kinda liked it..."

    The other reviewers evidently had expectation far wide of what this book is about. It's neither a tradional mystery in the vein of Amelia Peabody, nor is it an attempt to educate the reader about ancient Egypt. It's an unconventional mystery, creatively told, amusingly narrated, and entertaining. I enjoyed the author's near-vicious depiction of early 20th-Century British classism and the pretensions of the main character (and the pretensions turn out to be as much pretending to himself as pretentious). None of the characters is very likeable, but they are interesting, and in the end I felt sympathy for them all. (Well, several of them, anyway.)

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura Sarris 08-29-06

    addicted to audio, all genres except romance

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    433
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    3
    Overall
    "pretty good"

    I like this one. Looking at the other reviews it seems its not for people who dont want to fully listen and need lots of action. But it was very enjoyable for me.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lawrence Cranberry Township, PA, USA 10-20-04
    Lawrence Cranberry Township, PA, USA 10-20-04
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Second worst book I've ever listened to"

    The concept of telling the story from different perspectives by providing only the correspondence and jounal entries of the characters is interesting but that is the only good thing I can say about the book and my pleasure with this novelty lasted about 10 minutes. All of the characters are annoying and you have to listen to them tell the story!!! It moves slow, and there is no historical education benefit. This is the first bad review I've ever written and the second worst book I've listened to in over 400 books on tape.

    32 of 38 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Barbara Marietta, GA, United States 12-03-04
    Barbara Marietta, GA, United States 12-03-04 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    387
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    140
    64
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    "Charming and fun, read to perfection..."

    I enjoyed this book as much as any lately. It was a little bit lightweight in the mystery and historical fiction genre, but researched and presented with affectionate enthusiasm, much like the Dan Brown amusement parks of "Angels and Demon" and "DaVinci Code". Told in diary and letter excerpts, the three actors who read the characters do a flawless job as British dandy, Australian PI and American heiress, in addition to managing to "do" other characters in the voice of the one who is telling the the tale. The mystery reveals itself in exquisite droplets, and is something almost unique in this type of drama. I will enjoy listening to this book several more times, and have bought paper copies for family and friends. For fans of Dan Brown, Elizabeth Peters, Sharyn McCrumb and F. Paul Wilson - those who are willing to try something new - this is a lot of fun.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Randy Stiles 10-12-04 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "terrible"

    hours of boring naration. this is not mystery or history of Egypt. Unhappy gay man with graphic details, girlfriend is drug addict, future father in law sick wierdo. takes no skill to write this. Title and front cover has nothing to do with story. Minor parts by Carter, Egypt. Sorry to give my first negative review of many great books on audible.com

    42 of 57 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Phyllis Hilo, HI, USA 10-09-04
    Phyllis Hilo, HI, USA 10-09-04 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Really annoying"

    I found the plot dragging, the writing mediocre and the narration boooooring. I just rated Brimstone 5. Use this one to put yourself to sleep.

    17 of 23 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Gates McKibbin North Augusta, SC, US 10-28-04
    John Gates McKibbin North Augusta, SC, US 10-28-04 Member Since 2001
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    135
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Clever concept but too long"

    This is an interesting concept book but is much too long because you figure out what is happening very early in the book (at least I did). I thought this would be in thr vein of the Amelia Peabody books, but the only similarity was the era it was written in. If this had been half as long, I probably would have giveng it a 4. It was just too much of a struggle to get to the end of the book.

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lanlady Woodbridge, VA USA 07-18-09
    Lanlady Woodbridge, VA USA 07-18-09 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    94
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    163
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Disappointing end"

    I felt let down by the long-drawn-out, predictable, and anticlimactic way in which the story concludes. All flowery words, but nothing to really grab the imagination. I kept waiting for the "surprise" ending that never happened. Don't believe the reviews that tell you there's a twist at the end--there isn't, or rather, you've figured it out about halfway through the audiobook. The story is also marred by characters who range from unsympathetic to hyper snooty. The narrators, for their part, were excellent but one tires quickly of the heavily embroidered language. No more Arthur Phillips for me.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 44 results PREVIOUS125NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.