The Deepest Secret: A Novel Audiobook | Carla Buckley | Audible.com
We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Deepest Secret: A Novel | [Carla Buckley]

The Deepest Secret: A Novel

Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.
Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, February 2014 - I love a good suspense story--add to that the secrecy of suburbia, and you have yourself a winner. When I first picked up this book, I thought it would be more of a psychological thriller. Instead I got a captivating tale about a family’s struggles, both internal and external, and just how far a mother would go to protect her family. Though this book deals with very heavy & somewhat unlikely situations, it left me questioning my own beliefs about forgiveness and morality. I definitely stayed up way too late reading this book- I just needed to find out how everything would be resolved. –Laura, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.

Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.

Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control - and some secrets that not even love can conceal.

Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power - a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.

©2014 Carla Buckley (P)2014 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (36 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.7 (34 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.1 (34 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Suzn F Fletcher, VT, US 03-11-14
    Suzn F Fletcher, VT, US 03-11-14 Member Since 2005

    I believe a reviewer should finish a book before submitting a review. What do you think?

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2255
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    673
    157
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    962
    19
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging and Interesting Story"

    I found this book to be completely engaging. Aside from the focus of the plot, i.e. the mother-son relationship, the son's rare genetic disorder, the marriage, the teen daughter's angst, is the peek into the lives different neighbors, all seen at night through the eyes of the young boy. I thought this perspective especially creative and unique and for that reason along with the compelling story-line, I believe this book deserves 4 stars.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C. Oneal California 02-11-14
    C. Oneal California 02-11-14 Member Since 2012

    I'm addicted to Audible. A new grandma I am responsible for my grandsons library, which reignited my interest in books.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    54
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Page Turner"

    This book had an interesting premise and was very engaging. I couldn't put it down. Great struggle in decision making and doing what is "right".

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael United States 02-28-14
    Michael United States 02-28-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Monotone story teller."
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    A different reader would have made this book better.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Carla Buckley again?

    Yes.


    How could the performance have been better?

    The book may be a good one but the reader uses no inflection in her voice when changing between characters.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Debbie Lake Havasu City, AZ, United States 03-02-14
    Debbie Lake Havasu City, AZ, United States 03-02-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    76
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    110
    61
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    This was such a good book! The narrator was excellent too. Very compelling story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BookLady sydney, Australia 02-13-14
    BookLady sydney, Australia 02-13-14 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    78
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What would you have done?"

    What would I have done,I kept asking myself as I was drawn into Eve's world during the aftermath of a horrific accident that would forever change the lives of the residents of a quiet suburban street.

    Eve, the mother of an XP child, a condition where exposure to sunlight and uv light is eventually fatal, finds herself in the centre of the tragedy. This novel is about the choices Eve makes to protect her child as well as the effect of those choices on the rest of the family and the community.

    An intriguing book which I couldn't put down. I will be looking out for more books by this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wendi Overland Park, KS, United States 03-02-14
    Wendi Overland Park, KS, United States 03-02-14 Member Since 2011

    Canadian girl in Kansas, love audible, books on kindle or kindle fire, and old fashioned books! I enjoy fiction most, mostly books with strong female leads. Favourite authors: Diana Gabaldon, Stephen King, Jodi Picoult, Wally Lamb, Pat Conroy, Andre Dubus III, Lisa Genova, many more!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    56
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping and Suspenseful"

    I have never read Carla Buckley before. This audiobook kept me engaged. I listened to it at work and while going to sleep, and also in the car.

    Eve would and has done anything for her son. He was diagnosed with a very rare condition called XP which makes him completely intolerant to sunlight. He will die of cancer if he's exposed. Eve has tailored her life around his, being there for him in the day, setting up the perfect environment, living in darkness, etc. This constant care for her youngest son creates a strain on Eve's daughter Melissa and Eve's husband.

    One awful day during a torrential rain storm, Even hits her neighbour's daughter with her car and accidentally kills her. The only thing she can think of is covering up the crime so that she can be there for her son, who needed her to survive daily.

    The book continues to weigh Eve's conscience and while the police become hot on her trail, she does everything she can to make her look completely innocent and not suspected. Things start to spiral out of control though...

    I loved the narrator and the book was great- with the exception of the ending which I found rather lame and it didn't really tie up the issues presented by the book. I would definitely recommend this though-

    4 solid stars.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-6 of 6 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.