We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Eagle in Exile Audiobook

Eagle in Exile: The Clash of Eagles Trilogy, Book II

Regular Price:$38.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale's gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny.

In AD 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus is tasked with conquering North America and turning it into a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great city of Cahokia, his legion is destroyed outright; Marcellinus is the only one spared. In the months and years that follow, Marcellinus comes to see North America as his home and the Cahokians as his kin. He vows to defend these proud people from any threat, Roman or Native.

After successfully repelling an invasion by the fearsome Iroqua tribes, Marcellinus realizes that a weak and fractured North America won't stand a chance against the returning Roman army. Worse, rival factions from within threaten to tear Cahokia apart just when it needs to be most united and strong. Marcellinus is determined to save the civilization that has come to mean more to him than the empire he once served. But to survive the swords of Roma, he first must avert another Iroqua attack and bring the Cahokia together. Only with the hearts and souls of a nation at his back can Marcellinus hope to know triumph.

©2016 Alan Smale (P)2016 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (26 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (22 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (23 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Michael Adams 06-22-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Addicted to the Eagles"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Eagle in Exile to be better than the print version?

    Tough call, it is always nice to add a layer of depth to characters... I do enjoy the presentation.


    What did you like best about this story?

    This story makes you care about the characters and you cannot help but want more. The characters are deep and complex and demand your attention.


    What does Kevin Orton bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He really adds great depth and personality to already great characters.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jordan Madison, AL, United States 06-02-16
    jordan Madison, AL, United States 06-02-16 Member Since 2007

    Fupi

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good fiction/fantasy"

    if you are wanting perfect what if fiction this book is not it. it is close enough to make the story really enjoyable and the characters are compelling.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.