Cinnamon and Gunpowder: A Novel Audiobook | Eli Brown | Audible.com
We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
Cinnamon and Gunpowder: A Novel | [Eli Brown]

Cinnamon and Gunpowder: A Novel

The year is 1819, and the renowned chef Owen Wedgwood has been kidnapped by the ruthless pirate Mad Hannah Mabbot. He will be spared, she tells him, as long as he puts exquisite food in front of her every Sunday without fail. To appease the red-haired captain, Wedgwood gets cracking with the meager supplies on board. His first triumph at sea is actual bread, made from a sourdough starter that he leavens in a tin under his shirt throughout a roaring battle, as men are cutlassed all around him. Soon he’s making tea-smoked eel and brewing pineapple-banana cider.
Regular Price:$25.51
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A gripping adventure, a seaborne romance, and a twist on the tale of Scheherazade - with the best food ever served aboard a pirate's ship.

The year is 1819, and the renowned chef Owen Wedgwood has been kidnapped by the ruthless pirate Mad Hannah Mabbot. He will be spared, she tells him, as long as he puts exquisite food in front of her every Sunday without fail. To appease the red-haired captain, Wedgwood gets cracking with the meager supplies on board. His first triumph at sea is actual bread, made from a sourdough starter that he leavens in a tin under his shirt throughout a roaring battle, as men are cutlassed all around him. Soon he's making tea-smoked eel and brewing pineapple-banana cider.

But Mabbot - who exerts a curious draw on the chef - is under siege. Hunted by a deadly privateer and plagued by a saboteur hidden on her ship, she pushes her crew past exhaustion in her search for the notorious Brass Fox. As Wedgwood begins to sense a method to Mabbot's madness, he must rely on the bizarre crewmembers he once feared: Mr. Apples, the fearsome giant who loves to knit; Feng and Bai, martial arts masters sworn to defend their captain; and Joshua, the deaf cabin boy who becomes the son Wedgwood never had.

Cinnamon and Gunpowder is a swashbuckling epicure's adventure simmered over a surprisingly touching love story - with a dash of the strangest, most delightful cookbook never written. Eli Brown has crafted a uniquely entertaining novel full of adventure: the Scheherazade story turned on its head, at sea, with food.

©2013 Eli Brown (P)2013 Macmillan Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (23 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.6 (21 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Story
3.8 (19 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    colleen ANCHORAGE, AK, United States 06-12-13
    colleen ANCHORAGE, AK, United States 06-12-13 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1269
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    146
    95
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    610
    11
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad-Not terrrific"

    Nice story, new ideas, kept me interested but not invested in the characters. The cooking aspect was a new twist and I liked that, the rest was fairly average.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary College Station, TX, United States 11-16-13
    Mary College Station, TX, United States 11-16-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    177
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "NOT THE USUAL PIRATE STORY"

    The chef is forced to be resourceful in many different ways.He has to shed excess baggage. The pirate captain has her ways. The crew are true pirates. I loved the creativeness and the narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Teresa S. Harrisonburg, VA United States 09-03-13
    Teresa S. Harrisonburg, VA United States 09-03-13 Member Since 2008

    Possum

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    160
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not nearly as much fun as it could have been"
    Would you try another book from Eli Brown and/or James Langton?

    I am not sure - I certainly wouldn't buy one as soon as it came but would wait for reviews.


    What was most disappointing about Eli Brown’s story?

    The main character wasn't very likeable - he kept making stupid moves in the course of the story by trying to escape and then 'suddenly' decided he was happy living on the boat.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of James Langton?

    I am not sure - I couldn't decide if the lack of likeability of the main character was due to the narration or not. Whenever you are listening to an audiobook and you find yourself just tired of hearing a voice - it isn't a good sign. He seemed to drone on and on but that could also be the fault of the story.


    Do you think Cinnamon and Gunpowder needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    no


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erin Belgium, wi, United States 08-05-13
    Erin Belgium, wi, United States 08-05-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    76
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just plain fun"

    I have to say this is one of the more bizarre premises for a book, but it was so much fun. I can handle a little bit of swashbuckling and sea stories, but Horatio Hornblower and Jack Aubrey are always a little more technical than I deem to be "fun." But a story with foodie pirates? I love it. Even though one would imagine the food on ships to be somewhat lacking, I found myself getting hungry listening to the great descriptions of the meals put forth by the protagonist (minus the bread made with a starter that he wore on himself to keep warm).

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erin - Audible Jersey City, NJ 06-26-13
    Erin - Audible Jersey City, NJ 06-26-13 Member Since 2010

    Nothing I love more than a well-rounded character and intense plot.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    68
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    133
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    50
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a win for me"

    Cinnamon & Gunpowder is one of those books that you think you can explain quickly. You can’t. The basic elements (wild-haired lady pirate, stuffy chef, excellently-named nemeses, and high-stakes adventure) combine into a fantastical gumbo as wonderful as the cooking described within. It all seemed simple at first, but then when attempting to describe the plot to a friend, I found myself standing on a chair, thrusting a cutlass at imaginary rivals, shouting “OH! OH! AND THEN—“; it begs exclamation and exuberance.

    Though exciting on the surface, Brown is also telling a deeper story of corruption, loyalty, the benefits of moral ambiguity, and ultimately, how we make our families. I haven’t been this excited about a leading female character in a long time. Highly recommended for fans of Blood Bones & Butter, Bloody Jack, and Downton Abbey - Master and Commander fans, you’re encouraged to take note as well. If you like adventure, if you like pirates, if you like food, this book belongs in your library.

    James Langton's narration is not entirely what I was expecting, but I think he did a good job of relaying the protagonist's worldview and generally stuffiness.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-5 of 5 results
Sort by:
  • Frederiek
    Nieuwerkerk aan den IJssel, Netherlands
    10/24/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Super book"
    What did you like most about Cinnamon and Gunpowder?

    I liked this book from the very beginning! The voice is very pleasant to listen to. This is the way I like an audiobook to be narrated. This is how I like my audiobooks. If you like this book, then also listen to A high wind in Jamaica by Richard Huges. It is also about pirates (and children) and also a nice story and very well read.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The cook, of course


    Have you listened to any of James Langton’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Not yet, but I will in future!


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It was hilarious at times


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.