We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Always Audiobook

Always: A Novel

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A gripping novel about the kind of love that never lets go and the heart's capacity to remember, from the New York Times best-selling author of Blackberry Winter and The Violets of March.

Enjoying a romantic candlelit dinner with her fiancé, Ryan, at one of Seattle's chicest restaurants, Kailey Crain can't believe her good fortune: She has a great job as a journalist and is now engaged to a guy who is perfect in nearly every way. As she and Ryan leave the restaurant, Kailey spies a thin, bearded homeless man on the sidewalk. She approaches him to offer up her bag of leftovers and is stunned when their eyes meet, then stricken to her very core: The man is the love of her life, Cade McAllister.

When Kailey met Cade 10 years ago, their attraction was immediate and intense - everything connected and felt right. But it all ended suddenly, leaving Kailey devastated. Now the poor soul on the street is a faded version of her former beloved: His weathered and weary face is as handsome as Kailey remembers, but his mind has suffered in the intervening years. Over the next few weeks, Kailey helps Cade begin to piece his life together, something she initially keeps from Ryan. As she revisits her long-ago relationship, Kailey realizes that she must decide exactly what - and whom - she wants.

Alternating between the past and the present, Always is a beautifully unfolding exploration of a woman faced with an impossible choice, a woman who discovers what she's willing to save and what she will sacrifice for true love.

©2017 Sarah Jio (P)2017 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"A heartwarming story of personal growth and the power of nostalgia.... Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emily Giffin should enjoy this warm and compassionate novel." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (140 )
5 star
 (73)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.2 (131 )
5 star
 (66)
4 star
 (35)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.3 (132 )
5 star
 (74)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jo Ellen Keigley 03-15-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    Compared to Blackberry Winter and Violets of March this book was disappointing. It was extremely predictable, no real mystery, and the resolution of the friendship between Cade and James was anticlimactic and made no sense in the context of the lead up to it. This seemed like a romance story for an older teen girl or a young twenty something. And as another reviewer said what happened to Eddie, the dog?

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Glenda Bolton, MA, United States 03-12-17
    Glenda Bolton, MA, United States 03-12-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice book - fairly predictable"

    Nice "feel good" book - definitely in the category of summer reading. I needed a better villain. Kept looking for danger, but it was not there.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel Atascadero, CA, United States 02-11-17
    Rachel Atascadero, CA, United States 02-11-17 Member Since 2016

    I own a small shop selling custom/costume Jewelry. I love to listen to audio books while I create jewelry. I love all animals and get very upset when they aren't treated well, even in fiction.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    155
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    164
    55
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved this"

    Great book! The story really touch my heart!
    Note to the author: what happened to Eddy?

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shade 02-10-17
    Shade 02-10-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unique plot, interesting characters"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Always to be better than the print version?

    Haven't read the print version


    What other book might you compare Always to and why?

    Haven't experienced this kind of story before


    What about Brittany Pressley’s performance did you like?

    The sound of her voice & her reading pace. Very natural.


    Any additional comments?

    Really enjoyed this listen. Terrific story, fantastic narration.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kristen Burch IL 02-09-17
    Kristen Burch IL 02-09-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing and twisting"

    keeps you so much on your toes on what she would or even should do. I enjoyed the back and forth of the history of her relationships.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lynne m vokatis 03-30-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thank you Sara Jio"

    What a wonder story . Sara Jio can't miss . Beautifully narrated by Brittany Presley thank you Sara for creating a a wonderful love story and always believing in love . Thank Audible.com

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tara D. 03-17-17
    Tara D. 03-17-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    69
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Captivating and emotional!"

    What an amazingly captivating and emotional read. I was drawn in from the beginning and fell in love with each character. Heartbreaking and poignant, this story pulls at every emotion possible.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tonja 03-13-17
    Tonja 03-13-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Always did not disappoint!"

    Her style of writing and pace of storytelling is refreshing. Looking forward to reading other books written by her.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Corcoran Connecticut 03-13-17
    J. Corcoran Connecticut 03-13-17 Member Since 2012

    CT Girl 1962

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Emotional"

    Overall, though, it was a true to life story that left me satisfied and a bit sad in the end. I would have liked to know what happened to the dog. He was mentioned briefly throughout the story, but there was no closure.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Angela 03-05-17
    Angela 03-05-17 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nostalgic"

    This brought so many memories back for me. Stumbled onto this book by accident but so glad that I did! Not only did the storyline keep me interested but I also started to feel for each of the characters and what they were going through. If you were a girl growing up during the 90's, you will enjoy this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.