We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe | [Nancy Goldstone]

Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe

Set against the backdrop of the turbulent 13th century, a time of chivalry and crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs, comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence, whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily.
Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Historian Nancy Goldstone examines medieval Europe from the point of view of four Proven├žal sisters who played key roles in shaping history. Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice were daughters of the count of Provence; through their marriages they became queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily. This engaging story highlights the crucial role each sister played in shaping history. Narrator Josephine Bailey adds a note of refined elegance with her clear and clipped British accent while expertly pronouncing the often complicated and obscure names. Rather than attempting accents and voices, Bailey keeps a steady and impassive tone throughout, raising her voice only in moments of extreme emotion. This technique enhances the third-person objective perspective of the text.

Publisher's Summary

Set against the backdrop of the turbulent 13th century, a time of chivalry and crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs, comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence, whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily.

From a cultured childhood in Provence, each sister was propelled into a world marked by shifting alliances, intrigue, and subterfuge: Marguerite, the eldest, whose resolution and spirit would be tested by the cold splendor of the Palais du Roi in Paris; Eleanor, whose soaring political aspirations would provoke her kingdom to civil war; Sanchia, the neglected wife of the richest man in England, who bought himself the crown of Germany; and Beatrice, whose desire for sovereignty was so acute that she risked her life to earn her place at the royal table.

Four Queens shatters the myth that women were helpless pawns in a society that celebrated physical prowess and masculine intellect. A riveting historical saga for fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.

©2007 Nancy Goldstone; (P)2007 Tantor Media Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Fascinating." (Booklist)
"On Goldstone's...rich, beautifully woven tapestry, medieval Europe springs to vivid life....This is a fresh, eminently enjoyable history." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (169 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (61)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (9)
Overall
3.7 (61 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (22)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.8 (59 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Alison Austin, TX, United States 06-26-11
    Alison Austin, TX, United States 06-26-11 Member Since 2010

    Miss Construed

    HELPFUL VOTES
    75
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    102
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enlightening"

    A scholarly but readable account of Eleanor, Marguerite, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provence. These four incredible, strong, and influential women helped define Europe during the thirteenth century. My favorite medieval time period is the fourteenth century. Reading this work gave me much greater insight into the events that helped shape the fourteenth century and the curious relationship between England and France.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Dupree Macon, GA USA 05-30-08
    R. Dupree Macon, GA USA 05-30-08 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not Well Organized"

    This book did not seem very well organized and the story was not told in chronoligical order. It was as if someone was stringing together bits of histrorical facts from different sources. One chapter tells of the death of one of the women and in the next chapter it is related that she spent the Christmas season with the family in France. I give the narrator credit for for doing a good job with the material she had to work with. I don't know how I managed to listen to the entire book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa 04-27-08
    Lisa 04-27-08
    HELPFUL VOTES
    95
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    "Painless & Fun History"

    Great book! Wonderful way to introduce someone who "hates" history -- especially a teenage girl or woman -- to the beauty of history. But this isn't history just for females, although it does emphasize the oft-overlooked impact powerful, shrewd, well-connected women had on historical events. I'll probably buy the hardcopy to get more complete info -- maps, etc. I loved it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.