We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End: Book 3 | [Jennifer Worth]

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End: Book 3

When 22-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.
Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When 22-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

©2005 Jennifer Worth. (P)2014 HighBridge Company.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (197 )
5 star
 (149)
4 star
 (35)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.7 (176 )
5 star
 (133)
4 star
 (33)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.8 (170 )
5 star
 (143)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jan Rochester, NY, United States 02-20-14
    Jan Rochester, NY, United States 02-20-14 Member Since 2011

    Eclectic, avid listener, favorite book is the one currently in ear.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    797
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    406
    182
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    77
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hated to see it end..."

    "Call The Midwife" was my favorite book last year and I snatched up the last two in the series as quick as I found them. Although each book could stand alone, I still recommend reading it first. This book goes back to the actual midwifery work with real life experiences being shared much like Book 1. Deliveries are followed step by step, botched abortions, infanticide, tuberculosis, single mothers, didn't know was PG moms, hair-raising situations... and again its not for a young reader as real life is accurately portrayed. This book wraps up the work of the midwives, as the 60's brought birth control and the closing of East End "slums" and in the end Jenny shares what happened to all the main characters. If you loved CTM, you will love this. Just as a note the BBC has made it into a popular TV series that can be viewed on Netflix.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-21-14
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-21-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    199
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    231
    225
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    17
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fitting end to a trilogy"
    Where does Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Fairly high. The memoir series is not complete without it; you find out what happens to all the characters you've come to know and love from Call the Midwife and Shadows of the Workhouse.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End?

    Chummy's wedding, by far... very sweet, funny, and touching.


    What about Nicola Barber’s performance did you like?

    This is probably her best performance, better even than Shadows of the Workhouse. I will be checking out other performances of hers. Fun singing, accents, quiet sadness... stunning!


    Any additional comments?

    Great fitting end to a trilogy of short vignets. It is more personal than Shadows of the Workhouse, but not as personal as Call the Midwife. But it is a wonderful addition to any library, a tribute to a bigone era.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rio Delta Wild Harlingen, TX 11-07-14
    Rio Delta Wild Harlingen, TX 11-07-14 Member Since 2004

    I enjoy mysteries, NOT thrillers, contemporary fiction, especially about diverse cultures, and sometimes history, if it doesn't involve too many dates. I often listen to a book multiple times, discovering unnoticed details in the retelling.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    150
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    171
    93
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    13
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "London in my childhood. Wonderful narration!"

    I am amazed at the deprivations suffered by the English during the years of my early childhood. These stories are especially endearing to me as I so thoroughly enjoyed my visit to the British Isles some years ago. Jennifer Worth has such a talent in telling stories and revealing characters, as well as analyzing the situations she observed in her career. I was thrilled to find Book 3, and I will probably read anything she chooses to write in future.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sallie 10-31-14
    Sallie 10-31-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    97
    95
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What is not to love?"

    I am crazy about this series and I hated it to end. This last book did not cover as many delivery stories but gave more details about the wonderful characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul Z. Wixom, MI 10-29-14
    Paul Z. Wixom, MI 10-29-14 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    168
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    341
    54
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    13
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book!"

    I really liked this book, some of the content is a little darker than the other two book (so much so that I discouraged my wife who just had a beautiful baby from reading it) but even saying that it is an amazing book. It is great to find out what happens to all of the nurses and sisters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LMcL 07-18-14
    LMcL 07-18-14

    Tiggi Lit Lee

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    292
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful stories."
    Would you consider the audio edition of Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End to be better than the print version?

    I love the accents and the gentle tone of voice the reader gives to the main character. With audio you can close your eyes and envision the story.


    What about Nicola Barber’s performance did you like?

    Her lovely voice.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    "The female equivalent of James Herriott!"


    Any additional comments?

    The book is fascinating and evokes what it was really like in post war Britain without being depressing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-6 of 6 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.