We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End Audiobook

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End: Book 3

Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When 22-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

©2005 Jennifer Worth. (P)2014 HighBridge Company.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (684 )
5 star
 (539)
4 star
 (114)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.7 (603 )
5 star
 (466)
4 star
 (107)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.8 (605 )
5 star
 (514)
4 star
 (79)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jan 02-20-14
    Jan 02-20-14 Member Since 2011

    Tangential, eclectic, avid listener... favorite book is the one currently in ear.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1952
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    497
    226
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    159
    11
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hated to see it end..."

    "Call The Midwife" was my favorite book last year and I snatched up the last two in the series as quick as I found them. Although each book could stand alone, I still recommend reading it first. This book goes back to the actual midwifery work with real life experiences being shared much like Book 1. Deliveries are followed step by step, botched abortions, infanticide, tuberculosis, single mothers, didn't know was PG moms, hair-raising situations... and again its not for a young reader as real life is accurately portrayed. This book wraps up the work of the midwives, as the 60's brought birth control and the closing of East End "slums" and in the end Jenny shares what happened to all the main characters. If you loved CTM, you will love this. Just as a note the BBC has made it into a popular TV series that can be viewed on Netflix.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    D. Knight Nashville, TN USA 07-27-15
    D. Knight Nashville, TN USA 07-27-15 Listener Since 2007

    romans55

    HELPFUL VOTES
    116
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gritty and Real"

    There are parts of this series of books that just broke my heart. To hear of the poverty and cruelty of this era and place, was sad as well as graphic. Sometimes you will need a strong stomach, because it is written by a nurse that saw and experienced many atypical things that we wouldn't come across much today. I love the writing and it was hard to see the book series end. All three books were so interesting and well-written. A group of stories that needed to be told.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-21-14
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-21-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    603
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    353
    339
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    37
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fitting end to a trilogy"
    Where does Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Fairly high. The memoir series is not complete without it; you find out what happens to all the characters you've come to know and love from Call the Midwife and Shadows of the Workhouse.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End?

    Chummy's wedding, by far... very sweet, funny, and touching.


    What about Nicola Barber’s performance did you like?

    This is probably her best performance, better even than Shadows of the Workhouse. I will be checking out other performances of hers. Fun singing, accents, quiet sadness... stunning!


    Any additional comments?

    Great fitting end to a trilogy of short vignets. It is more personal than Shadows of the Workhouse, but not as personal as Call the Midwife. But it is a wonderful addition to any library, a tribute to a bigone era.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jdid 05-03-15
    Jdid 05-03-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful end to a great series!"

    I absolutely loved this whole series of books, especially the first and last. The author really brings this world to life, and I am grateful she captured this period of time for the world to remember the resilient East Enders! Truth is stranger than fiction, and I often couldn't believe my ears - the stories were amazing and I shared many of them with whomever was patient enough to listen. I will remember these books fondly, and am sad to say farewell to the East End!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hillary Bean Jackson, WY 03-17-15
    Hillary Bean Jackson, WY 03-17-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A beautiful experience"

    Amazing narrator, beautiful story. I listened to all three books in a week, and I've been enchanted by these accounts. The lifestyles and personalities in this book are some of the most delicately woven descriptions of the human experience.. the writing and the perfect narration of the characters had me in a whirlwind of emotion as the stories unfolded. Thank you for this experience! I'm studying midwifery, and I'm all the more inspired to offer this beautiful practice to people, and to be touched by the connections we make floating into intimate moments of other's lives.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Merced, CA USA 08-17-16
    Amazon Customer Merced, CA USA 08-17-16

    Em

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved all three books"

    I loved this trilogy. I'm glad that I chose to listen rather than read because I think that the reader's wonderful performance, with all the accents, adds so much to it. Great!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeffrey J. 07-21-16
    Jeffrey J. 07-21-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good send off to the trilogy"

    Excellent last book, although if you have a queasy stomach be prepared to skip the descriptions of how illegal abortions were performed. It is sure to leave any woman within earshot clutching their cervixes and writing effusive thank you notes to their doctors for sterilizing their equipment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Claesson 07-09-16
    E. Claesson 07-09-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Refreshing"

    This book was a satisfying conclusion to the series. I loved learning more about the lives of the nurses and sisters, who have become like my friends after listening to the books. Entertaining and uplifting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bonnie L. Dalziel 05-08-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it"

    The entire series was enchanting. The narration was phenomenal. it was a delightful history lesson as well. I hope it is all true. Regardless the struggles and joy were well told.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David San Diego, CA, United States 03-09-16
    David San Diego, CA, United States 03-09-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    122
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fitting conclusion"
    What other book might you compare Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End to and why?

    I think the other books of this series (Call the Midwife and The Shadows of the Workhouse) are very comparable to Farewell to the East End. Another is the memoir of Qanta Ahmed's (in the Land of Invisible Women).


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    It was, I wanted to see how the lives of the women associated with Non-natus House developed and what would happen to each of the characters in this book.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.