We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End: Book 3 | [Jennifer Worth]

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End: Book 3

When 22-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.
Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When 22-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

©2005 Jennifer Worth. (P)2014 HighBridge Company.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (380 )
5 star
 (293)
4 star
 (65)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.7 (336 )
5 star
 (262)
4 star
 (57)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.8 (334 )
5 star
 (285)
4 star
 (42)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jan 02-20-14
    Jan 02-20-14 Member Since 2011

    Tangential, eclectic, avid listener... favorite book is the one currently in ear.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1101
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    449
    211
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    127
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hated to see it end..."

    "Call The Midwife" was my favorite book last year and I snatched up the last two in the series as quick as I found them. Although each book could stand alone, I still recommend reading it first. This book goes back to the actual midwifery work with real life experiences being shared much like Book 1. Deliveries are followed step by step, botched abortions, infanticide, tuberculosis, single mothers, didn't know was PG moms, hair-raising situations... and again its not for a young reader as real life is accurately portrayed. This book wraps up the work of the midwives, as the 60's brought birth control and the closing of East End "slums" and in the end Jenny shares what happened to all the main characters. If you loved CTM, you will love this. Just as a note the BBC has made it into a popular TV series that can be viewed on Netflix.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-21-14
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-21-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    295
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    283
    277
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    23
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fitting end to a trilogy"
    Where does Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Fairly high. The memoir series is not complete without it; you find out what happens to all the characters you've come to know and love from Call the Midwife and Shadows of the Workhouse.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End?

    Chummy's wedding, by far... very sweet, funny, and touching.


    What about Nicola Barber’s performance did you like?

    This is probably her best performance, better even than Shadows of the Workhouse. I will be checking out other performances of hers. Fun singing, accents, quiet sadness... stunning!


    Any additional comments?

    Great fitting end to a trilogy of short vignets. It is more personal than Shadows of the Workhouse, but not as personal as Call the Midwife. But it is a wonderful addition to any library, a tribute to a bigone era.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer 06-26-15
    Jennifer 06-26-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Humbling"

    I love the Midwife stories because they make me appreciate the easy life I live now in 2015. This book doesn't quite match up to the first, but is still worth listening too. The also have a good balance of inspiration and the ugly truths of history. Hopefully we can learn something from them.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen Vanderjagt Lake Havasu City, AZ, US 06-15-15
    Karen Vanderjagt Lake Havasu City, AZ, US 06-15-15 Member Since 2014

    I just retired from my teaching career with Special Need High school. Now I'm concentrating on my 9 grandkids (my hubby continues to work).

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing stories untold"

    There are so many diverse stories told about the people in the east end end of London in the middle of the 20th century. The reader will be stunned and fascinated at the same time as the author weaves her way through her years as a midwife on the East end of London.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia Friesen 06-08-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Awesome awesome and worth rereading!"

    I'm not ever one to reread books. But these midwife books are all an exception! They are fascinating and well worth anything to get them!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharron Croft 06-06-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Call of the midwife: A history of women of a time and place."

    The story held my interest. The history was wonderful. It is a look at a time and people that I have not heard about. The story shows the progression of women over the last couple of centuries. The performance was clear and the characters were portrayed uniquely.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jdid 05-03-15
    Jdid 05-03-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful end to a great series!"

    I absolutely loved this whole series of books, especially the first and last. The author really brings this world to life, and I am grateful she captured this period of time for the world to remember the resilient East Enders! Truth is stranger than fiction, and I often couldn't believe my ears - the stories were amazing and I shared many of them with whomever was patient enough to listen. I will remember these books fondly, and am sad to say farewell to the East End!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bethany Hall 04-23-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love this series!"

    This is a great story. The narration is great, she deals well with dialects. This series is a must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christine 04-22-15
    Christine 04-22-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'm glad I listened."

    after I finished listening to this third book of call the midwife series, it dawned on me how much I'd have missed if I had read the book. the audible language has a very important part in this story, and listening gave me a better understanding of that and it's characters. I loved these books - historical, medical, romance, comedy, drama, religion - awesome.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    runnerpaul Shelby Twp. MI 03-23-15
    runnerpaul Shelby Twp. MI 03-23-15 Member Since 2014

    Irun2curenf

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another Great Insight into Life."
    What made the experience of listening to Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End the most enjoyable?

    The story lines and the narrator.


    What was the most compelling aspect of this narrative?

    The nuns acceptance of change.


    Which character – as performed by Nicola Barber – was your favorite?

    Jennifer - of course.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes, absolutely.


    Any additional comments?

    Brought back some early memories.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.