Dumplin'

2 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 892 ratings

Dumplin' Publisher's Summary

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine - self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson - from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine, Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant - along with several other unlikely candidates - to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way she'll shock the hell out of Clover City - and maybe herself most of all.

©2015 Julie Murphy (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Dumplin'

    • By: Julie Murphy
    • Narrated by: Eileen Stevens
    • Length: 9 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 806
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 749
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 755

    Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • I could read it again and again

    • By tessa on 09-19-16

    Regular price: $29.65

  • Book 2

    • Puddin'

    • By: Julie Murphy
    • Narrated by: Erin Mallon, Kyla Garcia
    • Length: 11 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 86
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 77
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 77

    The irresistible companion to the number one New York Times best seller Dumplin’. Millie Michalchuk has gone to fat camp every year since she was a little girl. Not this year. This year she has new plans to chase her secret dream of being a newscaster - and to kiss the boy she’s crushing on.
    Callie Reyes is the pretty girl who is next in line for dance team captain and has the popular boyfriend. But when it comes to other girls, she’s more frenemy than friend.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • If you loved Dumplin', you'll love Puddin'!

    • By Elizabeth Weiss on 05-09-18

    Regular price: $28.51