The Tales of Pell

1 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 29 ratings

Kill the Farm Boy Publisher's Summary

In an irreverent new series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett novels and The Princess Bride, the New York Times best-selling authors of the Iron Druid Chronicles and Star Wars: Phasma reinvent fantasy, fairy tales, and floridly overwritten feast scenes.  

Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, a hero, the Chosen One, was born...and so begins every fairy tale ever told.

This is not that fairy tale.

There is a Chosen One, but he is unlike any One who has ever been Chosened.  

And there is a faraway kingdom, but you have never been to a magical world quite like the land of Pell.

There, a plucky farm boy will find more than he’s bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there’s the Dark Lord, who wishes for the boy’s untimely death...and also very fine cheese. Then there’s a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini. 

This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, the Dread Necromancer Steve, and a strange and wondrous journey to the most peculiar “happily ever after” that ever once-upon-a-timed.

©2018 Kevin Hearne and Delilah S. Dawson (P)2018 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Kill the Farm Boy

    • The Tales of Pell Series, Book 1
    • By: Kevin Hearne, Delilah S. Dawson
    • Narrated by: Luke Daniels
    • Length: 12 hrs and 38 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 29
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 28
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 28

    A plucky farm boy will find more than he’s bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there’s the Dark Lord, who wishes for the boy’s untimely death...and also very fine cheese. Then there’s a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini. This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, and the Dread Necromancer Steve....

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Disappointing

    • By Bruce D. Parker on 07-18-18

    Regular price: $35.00