Winternight Trilogy

4 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 3,123 ratings

The Bear and the Nightingale Publisher's Summary

Random House presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati.

A young woman's family is threatened by forces both real and fantastical in this debut novel inspired by Russian fairy tales.

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of Northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, the father hides the gift away, and his daughter, Vasya, grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.

Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for fans of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Neil Gaiman.

©2017 Katherine Arden (P)2017 Random House AudioBooks
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Bear and the Nightingale

    • Winternight, Book 1
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 18
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 17
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 17

    In a village at the edge of the wilderness of Northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, the father hides the gift away, and his daughter, Vasya, grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.

    Regular price: $23.44

    • The Bear and the Nightingale

    • A Novel
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,554
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,396
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,393

    At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year, and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind - she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • I was swept away

    • By Crystal Midkiff on 02-04-17

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 2

    • The Girl in the Tower

    • A Novel
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 13 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 545
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 504
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 503

    The magical adventure begun in The Bear and the Nightingale continues as brave Vasya, now a young woman, is forced to choose between marriage or life in a convent, and instead flees her home - but soon finds herself called upon to help defend the city of Moscow when it comes under siege.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Magical

    • By Amazon Customer on 02-26-18

    Regular price: $28.00

    • The Girl in the Tower

    • Winternight, Book 2
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 13 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 6

    Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati. For a young woman in medieval Russia, the choices are stark: marriage or a life in a convent. Vasya will choose a third way: magic.... The court of the Grand Prince of Moscow is plagued by power struggles and rumours of unrest. Meanwhile, bandits roam the countryside, burning the villages and kidnapping its daughters.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • I wished it would never end

    • By Nichola on 02-23-18

    Regular price: $25.58