Winternight Trilogy

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 3,941 ratings

The Bear and the Nightingale Publisher's Summary

Random House presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati.

A young woman's family is threatened by forces both real and fantastical in this debut novel inspired by Russian fairy tales.

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of Northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, the father hides the gift away, and his daughter, Vasya, grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.

Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for fans of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Neil Gaiman.

©2017 Katherine Arden (P)2017 Random House AudioBooks
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Bear and the Nightingale

    • Winternight, Book 1
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 27
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 24
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 24

    In a village at the edge of the wilderness of Northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, the father hides the gift away, and his daughter, Vasya, grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.

    Regular price: $23.44

    • The Bear and the Nightingale

    • A Novel
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,142
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,949
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,945

    At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year, and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind - she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • I was swept away

    • By Crystal Midkiff on 02-04-17

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 2

    • The Girl in the Tower

    • A Novel
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 13 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 766
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 714
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 713

    The magical adventure begun in The Bear and the Nightingale continues as brave Vasya, now a young woman, is forced to choose between marriage or life in a convent, and instead flees her home - but soon finds herself called upon to help defend the city of Moscow when it comes under siege.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A-M-A-Z-I-N-G

    • By Erin Michelle Ross on 02-21-18

    Regular price: $28.00

    Sale price: $5.95

    • The Girl in the Tower

    • Winternight, Book 2
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 13 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 6

    Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati. For a young woman in medieval Russia, the choices are stark: marriage or a life in a convent. Vasya will choose a third way: magic.... The court of the Grand Prince of Moscow is plagued by power struggles and rumours of unrest. Meanwhile, bandits roam the countryside, burning the villages and kidnapping its daughters.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • I wished it would never end

    • By Nichola on 02-23-18

    Regular price: $25.58

  • Book 3

    • The Winter of the Witch

    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: Not Yet Known
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers - and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic. Then a vengeful demon returns, stronger than ever. Determined to engulf the world in chaos, he finds allies among men and spirits. Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya's shoulders. But she may not be able to save them all.

    Regular price: $26.17

    • The Winter of the Witch

    • A Novel
    • By: Katherine Arden
    • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
    • Length: 12 hrs
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    The Winternight Trilogy introduced an unforgettable heroine, Vasilisa Petrovna, a girl determined to forge her own path in a world that would rather lock her away. Her gifts and her courage have drawn the attention of Morozko, the winter-king, but it is too soon to know if this connection will prove a blessing or a curse. Now Moscow has been struck by disaster. Its people are searching for answers—and for someone to blame.

    Regular price: $28.00