McCabe & Savage

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 1,020 ratings

The Cutting Publisher's Summary

The first novel in the nationally best-selling McCabe and Savage series - perfect for fans of John Sandford and C. J. Box.

Someone is stealing the hearts of beautiful women....

Detective Mike McCabe moved from a top homicide job with the NYPD to Portland, Maine, to leave his failed marriage and suspicions of wrongdoing behind, and to find a more peaceful life for himself and his 13-year-old daughter.

But the small New England city is not nearly as safe as he thought.

On a warm September night, a missing high school athlete is found dead in a scrap-metal yard, her heart removed from her body with surgical precision. As outrage over the killing spreads, a young businesswoman disappears while out on a morning jog.

McCabe is certain both crimes are the work of one man - a murderer skilled in cardiac surgery who is using his scalpel to target young women. With the clock ticking, McCabe and his partner, Maggie Savage, find themselves in a desperate race against time to find and rescue the missing woman before she becomes the next victim of the sadistic killer's blade.

©2009 James Hayman (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Cutting

    • A McCabe and Savage Thriller, Book 1
    • By: James Hayman
    • Narrated by: Stephen Mendel
    • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 281
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 253
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 252

    Detective Mike McCabe moved from a top homicide job with the NYPD to Portland, Maine, to leave his failed marriage and suspicions of wrongdoing behind, and to find a more peaceful life for himself and his 13-year-old daughter. But the small New England city is not nearly as safe as he thought. On a warm September night, a missing high school athlete is found dead in a scrap-metal yard, her heart removed from her body with surgical precision. As outrage over the killing spreads, a young businesswoman disappears while out on a morning jog.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Okay For A First Book

    • By Me & My Girls on 11-15-15

    Regular price: $28.51

  • Book 2

    • The Chill of Night

    • A McCabe and Savage Thriller, Book 2
    • By: James Hayman
    • Narrated by: Stephen Mendel
    • Length: 10 hrs and 38 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 247
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 217
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 218

    One cold night Lainie Goff, a glamorous young attorney on the fast track to a partnership at Portland's top firm, is found frozen in the trunk of her BMW on the local fishing pier. Detectives Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage quickly uncover a long list of suspects.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Okay... Just Downloaded the Next In This Series!

    • By Ted on 04-12-16

    Regular price: $28.51

  • Book 3

    • Darkness First

    • A McCabe and Savage Thriller, Book 3
    • By: James Hayman
    • Narrated by: Stephen Mendel
    • Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 192
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 171
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 172

    The mutilated body of a young woman. The town doctor lying comatose in the road. And 150 tablets of Canadian OxyContin. This is the havoc that a merciless killer has wreaked on a sleepy Maine seaport. As detectives Maggie Savage and Michael McCabe investigate, they realize the man they are after does not exist. Nobody knows his real name. Nobody has seen his face. But everybody fears his blade.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • McCabe & Savage is worth a listen...

    • By shelley on 04-21-16

    Regular price: $28.51

  • Book 4

    • The Girl in the Glass

    • A McCabe and Savage Thriller, Book 4
    • By: James Hayman
    • Narrated by: Stephen Mendel
    • Length: 9 hrs and 25 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 209
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 178
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 177

    Two identical women. Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short 108 years apart. Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Good Murder Mystery!

    • By Wayne on 01-30-16

    Regular price: $28.51

  • Book 5

    • The Girl on the Bridge

    • A McCabe and Savage Thriller
    • By: James Hayman
    • Narrated by: Stephen Mendel
    • Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 91
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 81
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 80

    On a freezing December night, Hannah Reindel leaps to her death from an old railway bridge into the rushing waters of the river below. Yet the real cause of death was trauma suffered 12 years earlier, when Hannah was plucked from a crowd of freshman girls at a college fraternity party, drugged, and then viciously assaulted by six members of the college football team.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Not For The Melancholy

    • By Ted on 09-27-17

    Regular price: $28.51