The Guardian Herd

4 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 76 ratings

Starfire Publisher's Summary

Once every 100 years, a black pegasus foal is born. But its uncertain destiny will forever change the five herds of flying horses that live in Anok. For this foal will either unite or destroy the herds - and is fated to become the most powerful pegasus in the land.

Star is this black foal.

With malformed wings that make him unable to fly, Star seems harmless enough. But the prophecy is looming, and the leaders of each herd will take no risks. They will execute Star before the prophecy can take effect on his first birthday.

With threats from all the herds, including his own, and nowhere to hide, Star must rely on his small group of friends. But it's his own strength from within that will surprise him, no matter what the future may hold.

Perfect for fans of Warriors and Survivors, this first book in a thrilling new series will keep listeners quickly turning the pages as they follow Star on his epic journey.

©2014 Jennifer Lynn Alvarez (P)2014 HarperCollinsPublishers
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Starfire

    • The Guardian Herd, Book 1
    • By: Jennifer Lynn Alvarez
    • Narrated by: Andrew Eiden
    • Length: 5 hrs and 19 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 36
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 28
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 28

    With malformed wings that make him unable to fly, Star seems harmless enough. But the prophecy is looming, and the leaders of each herd will take no risks. They will execute Star before the prophecy can take effect on his first birthday. With threats from all the herds, including his own, and nowhere to hide, Star must rely on his small group of friends. But it's his own strength from within that will surprise him, no matter what the future may hold.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Gripping story, engaging characters

    • By Mrs. Penny Macphail on 05-03-15

    Regular price: $22.81

  • Book 2

    • The Guardian Herd: Stormbound

    • By: Jennifer Lynn Alvarez
    • Narrated by: Andrew Eiden
    • Length: 6 hrs and 19 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 14
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 14
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 14

    When Star received his powers on his first birthday, he became the most powerful pegasus in Anok. However, many were afraid to follow him and felt safer staying with their over-stallions. The rest unified with Star and formed River Herd.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • OMGosh

    • By Anonymous User on 08-14-18

    Regular price: $21.67

  • Book 3

    • Landfall

    • The Guardian Herd Series, Book 3
    • By: Jennifer Lynn Alvarez
    • Narrated by: Andrew Eiden
    • Length: 6 hrs and 34 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 12
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 9
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 9

    It has been many moons since Star received his starfire power, and now he will face his toughest challenge yet. Star is gravely injured, and Nightwing the Destroyer vows to make a pact with whoever brings him the black yearling - dead or alive. As Nightwing amasses an army to destroy him and all of Anok, Star must act fast. But as the threat of war looms, Star wonders if the current peace among the united pegasi is strong enough to survive.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Good but

    • By susan on 03-24-18

    Regular price: $21.67

  • Book 4

    • Windborn

    • The Guardian Herd, Book 4
    • By: Jennifer Lynn Alvarez
    • Narrated by: Andrew Eiden
    • Length: 7 hrs and 16 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 14
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 11
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 11

    Star and his friends have been through constant struggle, and now Star faces his toughest, most deadly challenge yet. Nightwing the Destroyer has captured all the pegasi of Anok, including Star's friends. And when Star learns of Nightwing's deadly plan for the captured herd, he knows the time has come to fight.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Great book

    • By Karen M. on 02-21-17

    Regular price: $22.81