Books of the Cataclysm

4 books in series
3.5 out of 5 stars 27 ratings

The Crooked Letter Publisher's Summary

When mirror twins Seth and Hadrian Castillo travel to Europe on holidays, they don't expect the end of the world to follow them. Seth's murder, however, puts exactly that into motion. From opposite sides of death, the Castillo twins grapple with a reality neither of them suspected, although it has been encoded in myths and legends for millennia. The Earth we know is just one of many "realms", three of which are inhabited by humans during various stages of their lives...and their afterlives.

In the tradition of Philip Pullman and Ursula K. Le Guin and inspired by numerous arcane sources, the "Books of the Cataclysm" begin in the present world but soon propel the reader to a landscape that is simultaneously familiar and fantastic.

©2004 Sean Williams (P)2012 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Crooked Letter

    • Books of the Cataclysm One
    • By: Sean Williams
    • Narrated by: Eric Michael Summerer
    • Length: 17 hrs and 35 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 16
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 13
    • Story
      2.5 out of 5 stars 14

    When mirror twins Seth and Hadrian Castillo travel to Europe on holidays, they don't expect the end of the world to follow them. Seth's murder, however, puts exactly that into motion. From opposite sides of death, the Castillo twins grapple with a reality neither of them suspected, although it has been encoded in myths and legends for millennia. The Earth we know is just one of many "realms", three of which are inhabited by humans during various stages of their lives...and their afterlives.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Overly Outlandish

    • By Vira on 10-04-13

    Regular price: $29.95

  • Book 2

    • The Blood Debt

    • Books of the Cataclysm Two
    • By: Sean Williams
    • Narrated by: Eric Michael Summerer
    • Length: 16 hrs and 7 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 5
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 5

    In a remote city on the edge of two worlds, where blood has power and water is more precious than freedom, three far-flung friends unite on a quest to save their families. Sal Hrvati's estranged father has brought more into the world than the woman he loved. Instead of saving her from the Void Beneath, he has summoned an unknown creature - a creature with a mission of its own and a past that stretches back to the beginning of the world.

    Regular price: $29.95

  • Book 3

    • The Hanging Mountains

    • Books of the Cataclysm Three
    • By: Sean Williams
    • Narrated by: Eric Michael Summerer
    • Length: 16 hrs and 27 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4

    Ancient enemies stalk ghostly fog forests as legends come to life. The Divide is flooded. Habryn Kail and the Homunculus are missing, presumed dead. Sal and his companions seek the source of the flood in the legendary Hanging Mountains, hoping to head off a crisis that was put in motion a thousand years ago. As conflict erupts between two long-forgotten civilizations, the outsiders find that allies are hard to come by. Taken captive and separated, they uncover uncomfortable truths about the world and how it relates to the one that came before - our world.

    Regular price: $29.95

  • Book 4

    • The Devoured Earth

    • Books of the Cataclysm Four
    • By: Sean Williams
    • Narrated by: Eric Michael Summerer
    • Length: 17 hrs and 1 min
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 2

    Haunted by a ghost from the future, Shilly and her man’kin allies are drawn into the snowbound mountains on a mission to save the world. Yod, trapped by the Castillo twins in the Void Beneath, may finally be close to breaking free. Hard on Shilly’s heels are Sal and his father, and an uneasy alliance of Sky Wardens, Panic and foresters. The stakes are high. Strange and ancient forces struggle for ascendancy, including the glast and a dragon with its own agenda.

    Regular price: $29.95