William Constable Spy

3 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 1 rating

State of Treason Publisher's summary

William Constable Spy Thriller Series - Book 1 

London 1578 - a cauldron of conspiracy, intrigue, and torture. 

The might of Spain and the growing influence of the Catholic League in France all threaten the stability of Queen Elizabeth and her state. 

William Constable, a physician and astrologer, is summoned to the presence of the Queen’s spymaster, Sir Francis Walsingham. He is charged to assist a renowned Puritan, John Foxe, in uncovering the secrets of a mysterious cabinet containing an astrological chart and coded message. Together, these claim Elizabeth has a hidden, illegitimate child (an “unknowing maid”) who will be declared to the masses and serve as the focus for an invasion. 

Constable must uncover the identity of the plotters, unaware that he is also under suspicion. 

A connection to his estranged mentor, Doctor Dee, comes under scrutiny. 

Pressured into taking up a position as a court physician, Constable becomes a reluctant spy. 

Do the stars and cipher speak true, or is there some other malign intent in the complex web of scheming? 

Constable becomes an unwitting pawn, in a complex game of thrones and power. 

State of Treason is the first in a series of Elizabethan thrillers featuring William Constable.

Recommended for fans of CJ Sansom, S J Parris and Rory Clements. 

Paul Walker is the author of the William Constable series of Elizabethan spy thrillers. He lives in London.

©2019 Paul Adrian Walker (P)2021 Paul Adrian Walker
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    • William Constable Spy Thriller Series, Book 1
    • By: Paul Walker
    • Narrated by: Edward Gist
    • Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
    • Release date: 02-02-21
    • Language: English
    • 5 out of 5 stars 1 rating

    Regular price: $24.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $24.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    A Necessary Killing Audiobook By Paul Walker cover art
    Not available on audible.com

  • Book 3

    The Queen's Devil Audiobook By Paul Walker cover art
    Not available on audible.com