Widow’s Brew Series

3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 76 ratings

What Ales the Earl Publisher's Summary

Scandal does not define the "fallen" ladies of Puddledon Manor's Benevolent Home. Instead, it's a recipe for an intoxicating new future as the women combine their talents - to operate their own brewery and alehouse....   

When Penelope Barnes arrived at the Home with her young daughter, she discovered a knack for horticulture - and for cultivating the hops needed to produce a superlative pint. She put her scandalous affair with Harry Graham firmly in the past, along with the wrenching pain she felt when he went off to war. After all, she'd always known a farmer's daughter had no future with an earl's son. Now, she has the pleasant memory of their passion, and she has little Harriet....  

Harry went off to fight for the Crown unaware his delightful interlude with his childhood friend had permanent consequences. Now, he's back in England, catapulted into the title by his brother's untimely death. He sorely misses his former life of unfettered adventure, so when he has reason to explore Little Puddledon, he jumps at the chance. But what he finds there is something - and someone - he never knew he'd lost, and a once-forbidden love whose time has come, if only he can persuade Pen he's home to stay....  

Contains mature themes.

©2018 Sally MacKenzie (P)2018 Tantor
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.