Vesta Shadows

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 16 ratings

Brides of Rome Publisher's Summary

It is a world of power and privilege, secrets and sacred duty. It is the world of ancient Rome. And it is the esteemed Vestal Virgins - priestesses of Vesta, goddess of the home and hearth - who protect the Eternal Flame that protects the Eternal City. 

Dedicated to a 30-year vow of chaste service, Priestess Pomponia finds herself swept up in the intrigue, violence, wars, and bedroom politics of Rome’s elite - Julius Caesar, Antony and Cleopatra, Octavian and his maneuvering wife, Livia - all the while guarding the secret affection she has in her heart. 

But when a charge of incestum - a broken vow of chastity - is made against the Vestal order, the ultimate punishment looms: death by being buried alive in the “Evil Field”. 

In Brides of Rome, book one in the Vesta Shadows series, Debra May Macleod skillfully recreates the world of ancient Rome with all its brutality and brilliance, all its rich history and even richer legend. A true pause-resister that is as smart as it is compelling, this must-listen novel brings the Vestal order to life like never before.

©2020 Debra May Macleod (P)2020 Blackstone Publishing
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.