Tobacco Girls

5 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 175 ratings

The Tobacco Girls Publisher's Summary

The start of a thrilling new series, from best-selling author Lizzie Lane, which follows three friends through thick and thin.

Bristol, 1939. School leaver Maisie Miles suspects her father, a small-time crook, has an ulterior motive for insisting she gets a job at the W. D. & H. O. Wills tobacco factory but keeps it to herself. 

She's befriended by effervescent Phyllis Mason and kind-hearted Bridget Milligan who take pity on her and take Maisie under their wing. But beneath their happy-go-lucky exteriors, they all harbour dreams and worries about what the future holds. 

Engaged-to-be-married Phyllis dreams of romance and passion, but when it comes there are dire consequences. 

Bridget, seemingly the level-headed one, harbours a horror of something unspeakable that she cannot easily come to terms with. 

There's great comradeship at the tobacco factory, but with the advent of war, everything is about to change, and even the closest friendships are likely to be strained.

©2021 Lizzie Lane (P)2021 Boldwood Books Ltd
Show more Show less

New to Audible?
Get Two Free Audiobooks

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.