The Winter Souls

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 261 ratings

A Soul as Cold as Frost Publisher's summary

Merry Christmas to all! And, to all a good fright...

The Quarrel of Sword and Bone was a death sentence for anyone who stepped into the arena with the deranged Queen, whose soul had crisped to frost in an age long since past.

Sixteen-year-old Helen Bell understood tragedy better than most kids growing up—she knew what it was like to wear clothes from donation bins and be mocked by the beautiful girls in school. She thought these brutal experiences made her ready for anything. But, she wasn't ready for this. After an eccentric girl opens Helen's eyes to let her see the realm of winter—a world with intersects tucked carefully into the cracks of our own, where monarchs have risen and fallen, it's forbidden to mention the name of the dead king of winter, and the currency is gold rings—Helen comes to realize the downtown confrontation was more significant than what the eccentric girl let on. When Helen receives a summons from the Crimson Court to enter into the Quarrel of Sword and Bone, a traditional duel performed before 1,000 witnesses that leaves only one survivor, she's forced to finally pay attention to the boy who's been following her around with a warning on his tongue.

With an underlying Christian message of hope, the Winter Souls series blends action and Christmas tradition, bringing the old forgotten tales of the season to life with new and grittier versions of famous characters out of old holiday legends, such as St. Nicholas, the Snow Queen, and the Nutcracker.

A Soul as Cold as Frost is Jennifer Kropf's debut novel, ideal for fans of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis, and The Nutcracker and the Four Realms by Meredith Rusu and Ashleigh Powell.

"Wow, I loved this book! This book was a magical twist between Narnia, Alice in Wonderland, and Spirited Away, yet somehow read as effortlessly original. The descriptions are vivid and really make you feel like you're freezing, trudging through snow, or drinking the best hot chocolate of your life. It was gripping, fast paced, and full of action, yet not lacking in heart. High recommend for young YA readers upwards." (USA Today best-selling author Alice Ivinya)

"The Chronicles of Narnia meets Harry Potter. This fantastic winter tale is the perfect blend of classic portal fantasy and the magical world co-existing with our own. This magical Christian fantasy adventure totally hits the spot and got everything right. It is a beautiful reminder of what is truly important in life." (USA Today best-selling author Astrid V. J.)

"A Soul as Cold as Frost instantly transports you into a magical world that the whole family will adore. Fans of Chronicles of Narnia will be thrilled with this new wintery adventure!" (Nikki Mitchell, author of Nightshade Forest)

"Wow! I can't believe this is Jennifer Kropf's debut novel. The writing is absolutely stunning and the characters are so easy to fall in love with. Fantasy isn't my usual genre, but I could not put this book down. I loved letting myself get lost in the wonderful world this author created. 5 out of 5 stars, without a doubt." (Heather Garvin, author of Take What You Can)

Do you love YA fantasies with Chronicles of Narnia vibes? A Soul as Cold as Frost, book one in the Winter Souls series, will probably be a perfect fit for you.

©2020 Jennifer Kropf (P)2022 Jennifer Kropf
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook


You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $24.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $24.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $23.70 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $23.70 or 1 credit

  • Book 3

    Regular price: $18.55 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $18.55 or 1 credit

  • Book 4

    Regular price: $17.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $17.95 or 1 credit

  • Carols and Spies Audiobook By Jennifer Kropf cover art
    Not available on audible.com