The Silent Gods

3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 20 ratings

Master of Sorrows Publisher's Summary

You have heard the story before - of a young boy, orphaned through tragic circumstances, raised by a wise old man, who comes to a fuller knowledge of his magic and uses it to fight the great evil that threatens his world.  

But what if the boy hero and the malevolent, threatening taint were one and the same?  

What if the boy slowly came to realise he was the reincarnation of an evil god? Would he save the world...or destroy it?  

Among the Academy's warrior-thieves, Annev de Breth is an outlier. Unlike his classmates who were stolen as infants from the capital city, Annev was born in the small village of Chaenbalu, was believed to be executed and then unknowingly raised by his parents' killers.  

Seventeen years later, Annev struggles with the burdens of a forbidden magic, a forgotten heritage and a secret deformity. When he is subsequently caught between the warring ideologies of his priestly mentor and the Academy's masters, he must choose between forfeiting his promising future at the Academy and betraying his closest friends. Each decision leads to a deeper dilemma, until Annev finds himself pressed into a quest he does not wish to fulfil.

Will he finally embrace the doctrine of his tutors, murder a stranger and abandon his mentor? Or will he accept the more difficult truth of who he is...and the darker truth of what he may become....

©2019 Justin Travis Call (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.