The Order of the Air

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 5 ratings

Lost Things Publisher's summary

In 1929, archeologists began draining Lake Nemi in search of the mysterious ships that have been glimpsed beneath its waters since the reign of Claudius. What they awakened had been drowned for 2,000 years. For a very good reason.

Veteran aviator Lewis Segura has been drifting since the Great War ended, fetched up at last at the small company run by fellow veterans and pilots Alma Gilchrist and Mitchell Sorley, assisted by their old friend Dr. Jerry Ballard, an archeologist who lost his career when he lost part of his leg. It’s a living, and if it’s not quite what any of them had dreamed of, it’s better than much that they’ve already survived. But Lewis has always dreamed true, and what he sees in his dreams will take them on a dangerous chase from Hollywood to New York to an airship over the Atlantic, and finally to the groves of Diana herself….

The world is full of lost treasures. Some of them are better off not found.


Melissa Scott is from Little Rock, Arkansas, and studied history at Harvard College and Brandeis University, where she earned her PhD in the Comparative History program. She is the author of more than 20 science fiction and fantasy novels, and has won Lambda Literary Awards for Trouble and Her Friends, Shadow Man, and Point of Dreams, the last written with her late partner, Lisa A. Barnett. She has also won Spectrum Awards for Shadow Man and again in 2010 for the short story “The Rocky Side of the Sky” (Periphery, Lethe Press) as well as the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. She can be found on LiveJournal at

Jo Graham worked in politics for 15 years before leaving to write full time. She is the author of the Locus Award-nominated Black Ships and the Spectrum Award-nominated Stealing Fire, as well as several other novels, including the Stargate Atlantis Legacy series. Her next book, The General's Mistress, is highly anticipated from Gallery Books. She lives in North Carolina with her partner and their daughter. She can be found online at

The Order of the Air is an original series, created by Melissa Scott and Jo Graham, loosely tied in to the past of the O.C.L.T. series books. Watch for the next volume in the series, Steel Blues, sometime in early 2013. Find many more sci-fi, fantasy, horror, mystery, and other genre titles from Crossroad Press—featuring best-selling authors like John Farris, John Skipp and Craig Spector, Joe R. Lansdale, Neal Barrett Jr., Steven Savile, David Niall Wilson, and many others. If you enjoyed Lost Things, you might like our other original series, O.C.L.T., set in modern times. Simply search Crossroad Press to locate our more than 500 available titles.

©2012 Joanne Elizabeth Wyrick and Melissa Scott (P)2022 David N. Wilson
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $24.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $24.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $19.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $19.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 3

    Silver Bullet Audiobook By Melissa Scott, Jo Graham cover art
    Not available on

  • Book 4

    Wind Raker Audiobook By Melissa Scott, Jo Graham cover art
    Not available on

  • Book 5

    Oath Bound Audiobook By Melissa Scott Jo Graham cover art
    Not available on