The Lazarus Codex

9 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 277 ratings

Death Rites (The Lazarus Codex) Publisher's Summary

Old gods die hard.

Professional necromancer Lazarus Kerrigan knows all too well that the Big Easy is anything but. Crime is up, business is down, and someone--or something--crushed an innocent girl to death on his doorstep.

After the search for the murderer brings the police to his front door, Laz must prove his innocence by hauling in the real killer with help from the dead.

When the sun sets in New Orleans, more than monsters go bump in the night... And what Laz awakens in his quest for answers might just get him--and everyone else in town--killed.

Fans of The Dresden Files and Iron Druid will love this wisecracking wizard! Get your copy today!

©2018 E.A. Copen (P)2018 E.A. Copen
Show More Show Less
You're getting a free audiobook.
$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 0.5

    Death Wish audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 1

    • Death Rites (The Lazarus Codex)

    • By: E. A. Copen
    • Narrated by: Travis Baldree
    • Length: 6 hrs and 31 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 129
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 124
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 125

    Old gods die hard. Professional necromancer Lazarus Kerrigan knows all too well that the Big Easy is anything but. Crime is up, business is down, and someone--or something--crushed an innocent girl to death on his doorstep. After the search for the murderer brings the police to his front door, Laz must prove his innocence by hauling in the real killer with help from the dead. When the sun sets in New Orleans, more than monsters go bump in the night... And what Laz awakens in his quest for answers might just get him--and everyone else in town--killed.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Fun Start to a Promising Series

    • By Spooky Mike on 11-06-18

    Regular price: $19.95

  • Book 2

    • Organ Grind

    • The Lazarus Codex, Book 2
    • By: E.A. Copen
    • Narrated by: Travis Baldree
    • Length: 7 hrs and 37 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 71
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 67
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 67

     

    Being one of the four horsemen sucks. The hours are long, the pay is crap, and every god or monster you meet wants to kill you. For Lazarus Kerrigan, professional necromancer, even helping the police search for some missing internal organs is a welcome relief. That is, until his ex-girlfriend shows up in the employ of an ancient Egyptian deity, and a faerie queen makes him an offer he can't refuse.  

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Love the fantasy, wit, and characters!

    • By Montzalee Wittmann on 04-20-19

    Regular price: $17.49

  • Book 3

    • Shallow Grave

    • Lazarus Codex Series, Book 3
    • By: E.A. Copen
    • Narrated by: Travis Baldree
    • Length: 7 hrs and 22 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 45
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 41
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 41

    Life is finally going right for Lazarus Kerrigan, necromancer and Pale Horseman. Business is booming, and no gods have tried to kill him for a whole month. But the past is catching up to him. There's a serial killer on the loose in New Orleans, one that targets children and leaves behind only bones. When the case develops eerie similarities to his sister's murder, Laz knows the police are in over their heads. They need help, and the dead aren't talking. Well, except for the ghost of a 200-year-old pirate, and Laz doesn't like what he has to say.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • The story continues to get better

    • By Melissa and Josh on 05-23-19

    Regular price: $17.49

  • Book 4

    • Knight Shift

    • Lazarus Codex Series, Book 4
    • By: E.A. Copen
    • Narrated by: Travis Baldree
    • Length: 7 hrs and 29 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 32
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 28
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 28

    Literally, as Lazarus found out on his last job. Now, to keep from turning into a ghoul himself, he has no choice but to wait in Faerie while his friends work on a cure. Lucky for Laz, he's got friends in high places inside the Summer Court. Laz is barely settled in when he's caught up in an assassination plot against the Summer Princess, who just happens to be his ex-girlfriend. With the Summer Knight injured, who better to step in and take his place protecting the royal family than Lazarus himself?

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Amazing

    • By Cody on 06-16-19

    Regular price: $17.49

  • Book 5

    Death Match audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 6

    Death's Door audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 7

    Night Terror audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 8

    Dark Revel audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com