The Collected Short Stories of Louis L'Amour

7 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 1,107 ratings

The Collected Short Stories of Louis L'Amour (Unabridged Selections from The Frontier Stories, Volume One) Publisher's Summary

No one more vividly captures the rugged majesty and enduring spirit of the American West than Louis L'Amour. Collected for the very first time are seven unabridged frontier tales from a legendary master of the genre. Volume One celebrates this remarkable voice in American fiction with a captivating blend of some of his best-loved work.

Listeners are brought face-to-face with heroism in a most unexpected place in "The Gift of Cochise," as a single mother faces down an Apache war party. "Desperate Men" follows four escaped convicts running a gauntlet of double and triple crosses in a hunt for gold that will leave only one of them alive. In "The Skull and the Arrow," a beaten man finds the strength to confront his enemies in the discovery of a simple arrowhead. In "Marshal of Canyon Gap," a new face in town means nothing but trouble to marshal McLane, not only for Canyon Gap, but for the secret he's kept for too many years. In "The Defense of the Sentinel," a whiskey-soaked drunk wakes to find he's the only hope for a town surrounded by marauders. "Let the Cards Decide" is the story of a woman whose future hangs on the outcome of a card game, and the adventures continue with "Home Is the Hunter," the tale of a hardened gunfighter and the little girl who changes his rough way of life.

Brimming with history, unforgettable characters, and the pride of place that his listeners have come to expect, the first volume of The Collected Short Stories of Louis L'Amour is a lasting tribute to one of the greatest short story writers of all time.

©2003 Louis and Katherine L'Amour Trust (P)2003 Random House, Inc.
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.