The Bomber War Series

8 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 2 ratings

When Winter Comes Publisher's Summary

When Winter Comes is the fourth audiobook of the Until the Night series and is set in December 1943. The Until the Night series is about Bomber Command in the winter of 1943 to '44 and follows the experience of Adam Chantrey, a 25-year-old veteran of the Bombing War sent to Ansham Wolds in Lincolnshire to rebuild a shattered Lancaster squadron. Exhausted and tormented by his own demons, he discovers, amidst the chaos of war and loss, love and an unlikely inner peace up on the high wold of Lincolnshire while all around him the world is enveloped in madness. 

It is December 1943, and the Lancaster Force has settled into the long, hard slog of razing Berlin from end to end. Raid after raid presses on against the storms of winter and the fury of the gun lines and the fighters guarding the faraway cities on the Saxon plain. The storms that batter the Main Force and the seasonal fog and mist that regularly envelope their bases are enemies as deadly as the Luftwaffe; the time when any man on ops could cling to hope is quickly disappearing. 

For Adam Chantrey and his exhausted crews, the odds are ever more stacked against them, but there is no option but to press on. The cause is just even if the means are anything but. Bomber Command is flying towards its collision with destiny, and the battle gets bloodier, it seems, every time the Main Force is hurled against the German cities. 

Please be aware - this audiobook is also available in an omnibus edition titled Until the Night, a revised second edition of a previously published title of the same name. 

©2013 James P. Coldham (P)2018 James P. Coldham
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.