Swallows and Amazons

13 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 716 ratings

Swallows and Amazons Publisher's Summary

For anyone who loves sailing and adventure, Arthur Ransome's classic Swallows and Amazons series stands alone. Originally published over a half-century ago, the twelve books are still eagerly read by children and adults alike – by all those captivated by the world of adventure and imagination. Such longevity is not only due to Ransome’s unparalleled gift of storytelling, but also his championing of qualities such as independence and initiative; virtues that appeal to every generation, whether young or old. Swallows and Amazons, the book that started it all in 1930, introduces the Walker family, the camp on Wild Cat Island, the able-bodied catboat Swallow, and the two intrepid Amazons, plucky Nancy and Peggy Blackett.

Arthur Ransome was a prolific writer of children's books. Born in Leeds in 1884, it was his father, a nature-loving history professor, who inspired his love of the outdoors and nurtured a passion for fishing. As a child he enjoyed active, outdoor holidays: sailing, camping and exploring the countryside. He used many of these holiday settings for his children's stories, notably the much-loved Swallows and Amazons, a book that sits comfortably in the category of ‘timeless classic’. In 1936 he won the first ever Carnegie Medal for the sixth book in the Swallows & Amazons series, Pigeon Post.

©2013 Arthur Ransome (P)2013 Audible Ltd
Show More Show Less
You're getting a free audiobook.
$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $15.98

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $20.72

  • Book 3

    • A Treasure Hunt in the Caribbees (Swallows and Amazons Series)
    • By: Arthur Ransome
    • Narrated by: Alison Larkin
    • Length: 12 hrs and 58 mins
    • Release date: 10-22-08
    • 5 out of 5 stars 102 ratings

    Regular price: $19.95

  • Book 4

    Regular price: $19.95

  • Book 5

    Regular price: $19.95

  • Book 6

    Regular price: $19.95

  • Regular price: $16.35

  • Book 7

    Regular price: $19.95

  • Book 8

    Regular price: $19.60

  • Book 9

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 10

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 11

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 12

    Regular price: $19.95