Shadows on the Hudson

4 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 104 ratings

Shadows on the Hudson, Volume 1 (Unabridged) Publisher's summary

The late Nobelist's masterpiece takes a candid look into the lives of Holocaust survivors during the late 40s. Set in New York City, Shadows on the Hudson, Volume 1, the first in a four volume audiobook series, draws us into the intertwined lives of a circles of prosperous Jewish refugees.

At the center is Boris Makaver, a pious and wealthy businessman. His greatest trial is his daughter, Anna. Unhappy in her current marriage, she plans to escape with Hertz Grien, a man torn between ascetic yearnings and romantic entanglements. From Makaver's gloomy Upper West Side Apartment to the pastel resorts of Miami-amid family quarrels, zealous religious debates, crooked seances, and a myriad of affairs and marriages-Singer weaves a rich tapestry of American Jewry. Despite the characters' fervent and often ironic attempts to decipher life's enigmas, their questions remain, for the most part, unanswered. This darkest of Singer's tragicomic novels was originally serialized in the Yiddish language publication, Forward, in the 50s. Now, finally, in its first English translation, it is revealed to be one of his major works.

©2008 Isaac Bashevis Singer (P)2009 Phoenix
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $15.42 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $15.42 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $16.11 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $16.11 or 1 credit

  • Book 3

    Shadows on the Hudson, Volume 3 Audiobook By Isaac Bashevis Singer cover art
    Not available on

  • Book 4

    Regular price: $15.61 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $15.61 or 1 credit