Rain God

2 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 9 ratings

Rain God Publisher's summary

"The Rain God is a lost masterpiece that helped launch a legion of writers. Its return, in times like these, is a plot twist that perhaps only Arturo Islas himself could have conjured. May it win many new readers." (Luis Alberto Urrea, best-selling author of The House of Broken Angels and The Hummingbird’s Daughter)

"Rivers, rivulets, fountains and waters flow, but never return to their joyful beginnings; anxiously they hasten on to the vast realms of the Rain God."

A beloved Southwestern classic - as beautiful, subtle, and profound as the desert itself - Arturo Islas' The Rain God is a breathtaking masterwork of contemporary literature. 

Set in a fictional small town on the Texas-Mexico border, it tells the funny, sad, and quietly outrageous saga of the children and grandchildren of Mama Chona the indomitable matriarch of the Angel clan who fled the bullets and blood of the 1911 revolution for a gringo land of promise. In bold creative strokes, Islas paints on unforgettable family portrait of souls haunted by ghosts and madness - sinners torn by loves, lusts, and dangerous desires. From gentle hearts plagued by violence and epic delusions to a child who con foretell the coming of rain in the sweet scent of angels, here is a rich and poignant tale of outcasts struggling to live and die with dignity...and to hold onto their past while embracing an unsteady future.

©1984 Arturo Islas (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $11.00 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $11.00 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Migrant Souls Audiobook By Arturo Islas cover art
    Not available on audible.com