Ouachita Mountain Tales

5 books in series
0 out of 5 stars Not rated yet

The Mountain Beckons Publisher's Summary

Raven Darkhorse wanted to be loved by her parents. It wasn't to be. They were too caught up in the battle over their love and alcohol to notice the small child quivering at every slap, every fist, every drunken orgy. Their eventual demise was a forgone conclusion, but no one expected them to die in a fire with their 10-year-old daughter bearing witness.

Lucy Darkhorse took over care of her niece. She raised her on Molly's Mountain beside a creek. Molly's Creek was a central, natural part of their lives in the Ouachita Mountains. Lucy made sure Raven had a better life than she'd had as a baby and young child. Alcohol never passed Lucy's lips nor was it ever present in her home. She vowed one thing Raven would never see in her home was a drunken brawl.

Raven's rescue began with her aunt. The beginning was a good start. Years of education later, Raven stood up for herself and her friend, Lynn. She helped Lynn avoid death at the hands of a vile man. Then, death stalked them both. A dog that looked more like a rag mop than an animal, a solitary man who wrote stories, and the love of Lucy Darkhorse, helped Raven and Lynn start building the lives they longed for.

As independent and brilliant women, they began building their lives. Love and honor followed. The power of women should never be underestimated.

©2021 Glenda Clemens (P)2021 Glenda Clemens
Show more Show less

New to Audible?
Get Two Free Audiobooks

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.