Nathaniel Hawthorne Flowers

3 books in series
3.5 out of 5 stars 6 ratings

Wild Blue Yonder Publisher's Summary

"Nathaniel Hawthorne Flowers, eh?" said first sergeant Wilford H. Buford. "That yer real name or one you picked up out there in fairyland Cally-forny?"

Over 650 Vietnam War novels have been published, mostly dark tales from the war zone. In Wild Blue Yonder, airman Nathaniel Hawthorne Flowers goes not to Vietnam but Germany, straight into a military catch-22. His assignment: writing stories for the "Stars and Stripes" newspaper that will never see print. Nate's adventure deepens as he and his fellow troops try to understand why they're there, the military mindset, and the massive social disruption roiling 1960s America. Existential, psychedelic, funny, and laced with rock 'n' roll, Wild Blue Yonder is the story of Nate's quest for personal and spiritual values while learning the meaning of family, friendship, and the love of the girl he left behind.

For every book sold, $1 will be donated to Vietnam Veterans of America (

©2011 Jack B Rochester (P)2016 Jack B Rochester
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.