Naomi Nakane

2 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 25 ratings

Obasan Publisher's summary

A powerful and passionate novel, Obasan tells, through the eyes of a child, the moving story of Japanese Canadians during the Second World War.

Naomi is a sheltered and beloved five-year-old when Pearl Harbor changes her life. Separated from her mother, she watches bewildered as she and her family become enemy aliens, persecuted and despised in their own land.

Surrounded by hardship and pain, Naomi is protected by the resolute endurance of her aunt Obasan and the silence of those around her. Only after Naomi grows up does she return to question the haunting silence.

©1981 Joy Kogawa (P)2019 Penguin Random House Canada
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    • By: Joy Kogawa
    • Narrated by: Mary Ito
    • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
    • Release date: 01-29-19
    • Language: English
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 25 ratings

    Regular price: $16.20 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $16.20 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Itsuka Audiobook By Joy Kagawa cover art
    Not available on