Mute-Cat Chronicles

2 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 16 ratings

No-Mod Publisher's Summary

“In the beginning, God was said to have created everything in fairly short order. Some say seven days. Others say three. The truth is that god created nothing. God flipped a switch. The machines have been building ever since.”

In the crowded techno-religious city of Aberthene, almost everyone is augmented by biomedical modification. Part machine, and part human. The church rules the state and controls everything from production to housing.

Addeleigh Simmons works in a religious building cleaning out suicide booths during the day while attending classes and studying at night. She hopes to soon afford the costly surgeries for the biomedical modifications that all of her friends have. She's singled out as only human: A no-mod.

Her drab existence is upended suddenly when an armed group of Red Guards breaks into her dormitory. She escapes through a third floor window with her pet mute-cat, Bruce, and begins a journey that will expand her entire world.

She doesn’t know why she is being chased. 

She doesn’t know who to trust. 

But no one outruns the church. 

Addie is being hunted. 

Addie is hiding from God.

©2019 Derek Porterfield (P)2020 Derek Porterfield
Show more Show less

New to Audible?
Get Two Free Audiobooks

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.