Milkweed Triptych

3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 1,925 ratings

Bitter Seeds Publisher's Summary

Audible was thrilled to discover this genre-busting alternate history of World War II by an exciting new writer, Ian Tregillis.

It's 1939. Raybould Marsh is a British secret agent in the early days of World War II, haunted by something strange he saw on a mission during the Spanish Civil War: a German woman with wires going into her head who looked at him as if she knew him. It wasn’t his imagination; the wired woman can see into the future and use her knowledge to twist the present. In fact, Marsh soon discovers that the Nazis are running missions with people who have special powers – a woman who can turn invisible, a man who can walk through walls, and the woman Marsh saw in Spain.

Marsh is called upon to stop them from aiding the Nazi expansion. He rallies a group of secret warlocks in Britain to hold an impending invasion at bay. But magic always exacts a price. Eventually, the sacrifice necessary to defeat the enemy proves as unthinkable as surrender. Alan Furst meets Alan Moore in this wildly entertaining epic of supernatural historical fiction. Bitter Seeds portrays a twentieth century much like the one we knew, but also profoundly different.

©2010 Ian Tregillis (P)2010 Audible, Inc.
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.