Life in the Woods

2 books in series
3.5 out of 5 stars 4 ratings

When Boys Were Men Publisher's summary

This is a somewhat fictionalized autobiographical account as told by Vernon "Si" King Sr. His growing up years were spent in logging camps in the forests surrounding Astoria, Oregon. These stories tell of events that shaped the character of a young boy which made him into a good man.

This book series is a tribute to two worthy men, John "Jack" Chambers and Vernon "Si" King Sr. It records stories they told to author, J. Dawn King just prior to their death. Both men grew up during the Great Depression and learned to work and play hard. They were honorable men with a bit of mischief thrown in for good measure.

These are fictionalized accounts of real events. The names of people and places have not been changed.

©2016 Joy Dawn King (P)2017 Quiet Mountain Press
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    When Boys Were Men Audiobook By J. Dawn King cover art
    • When Boys Were Men

    • From Memoirs to Tales, Book 1
    • By: J. Dawn King
    Not available on

  • Book 2

    When Boys Were Men: From Memoirs to Tales Audiobook By J Dawn King cover art
    • When Boys Were Men: From Memoirs to Tales

    • Life in the Woods, Book 2
    • By: J Dawn King
    Not available on