Hercule Poirot (Radio, TV)

43 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 2,699 ratings

The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Dramatised) Publisher's Summary

This is the very first Poirot/Hastings story. Set in 1916, we meet Captain Hastings as he is invalided out of the Great War and goes to convalesce at Styles Court, the family home of his great friend, John Cavendish. By an extraordinary coincidence, billeted in the village is a brilliant little retired detective with an egg-shaped head, who made a considerable impression on the Captain when he was in Belgium.

Styles is not a happy household and in the blistering summer heat, tensions mount. Even so, the tragic murder which occurs is not expected. The entire family is drawn into the case but with their reluctant permission, Hastings calls upon the services of the diminutive Belgian. Thus begins one of the great partnerships and friendships in the history of crime.

John Moffatt stars as Hercule Poirot, Simon Williams as Captain Hastings and Philip Jackson as Detective Inspector Japp, who already has reason to be indebted to the distinguished and unique hero of so many mysteries.

A destroyed will, a shattered coffee cup, an old envelope - such are the seemingly unrelated details surrounding the murder of Mrs Inglethorp, mistress of Styles Court. With a thoroughness that is to become legendary, Hercule Poirot, the methodical little Belgian, begins his first - and perhaps most fascinating - investigation.

Cast includes Philip Jackson, Nicola McAuliffe and Simon Williams.

©1920 Agatha Christie Ltd (P)2010 BBC Audiobooks Ltd
Show More Show Less

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $15.49

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $10.66

  • Book 3

    Poirot Investigates audiobook cover art
    • Poirot Investigates

    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 4

    Regular price: $10.66

  • Book 5

    The Under Dog audiobook cover art
    • The Under Dog

    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 6

    The Big Four audiobook cover art
    • The Big Four

    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 7

    Regular price: $15.49

  • Book 8

    Regular price: $15.49

  • Book 9

    Regular price: $15.49

  • Book 10

    Regular price: $12.39

  • Book 11

    Regular price: $15.49

  • Book 12

    Regular price: $10.33

  • Book 13

    Regular price: $10.33

  • Book 14

    Regular price: $15.49

  • Book 15

    Regular price: $10.33

  • Book 16

    Regular price: $10.66

  • Book 17

    Death on the Nile audiobook cover art
    • Death on the Nile

    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 18

    Murder in the Mews audiobook cover art
    • Murder in the Mews

    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 19

    Appointment with Death audiobook cover art
    • Appointment with Death

    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 20

    Regular price: $10.33

Show titles per page