Francis Pettigrew

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 29 ratings

Tragedy at Law Publisher's Summary

Tragedy at Law follows a rather self-important High Court judge, Mr. Justice Barber, as he moves from town to town presiding over cases in the Southern England circuit. When an anonymous letter arrives for Barber, warning of imminent revenge, he dismisses it as the work of a harmless lunatic. But then a second letter appears, followed by a poisoned box of the judge's favorite chocolates, and he begins to fear for his life. Enter barrister and amateur detective Francis Pettigrew, a man who was once in love with Barber's wife and has never quite succeeded in his profession. Can he find out who is threatening Barber before it is too late?

©1942 Cyril Hare (Alfred Alexander Gordon Clark) (P)2019 Tantor
Show more Show less
$4.95 a month for the first 6 months + $10 Amazon credit with Audible Plus