Classic Canning

10 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 48 ratings

Mr Finchley Discovers His England Publisher's Summary

Mr Edgar Finchley, unmarried clerk, aged 45, is told to take a holiday for the first time in his life. He decides to go to the seaside. But Fate has other plans in store...

From his abduction by a cheerful crook, to his smuggling escapade off the south coast, the timid but plucky Mr Finchley is plunged into a series of the most astonishing and extraordinary adventures.

His rural adventure takes him gradually westward through the English countryside and back, via a smuggling yacht, to London.

This gentle comedy trilogy was a runaway best-seller on first publication in the 1930s and retains a timeless appeal today. It has been dramatised twice for BBC Radio, with the 1990 series regularly repeated.

©1934 Victor Canning (P)2021 Duckworth Books Ltd
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.