Battleground Vietnam

7 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 2 ratings

Under Siege Publisher's Summary

Under Siege is an incredible fictional story based on the events surrounding the Siege of Khe Sanh. A story of heroic marines - tough, brave men - fighting for their lives in the middle of the dense, hostile Vietnamese jungle.

US Army Warrant Officer Carl Yeager, on his second tour of Vietnam, reaches Khe Sanh in late January 1968. His mission is to arrest an ARVN officer, guilty of murder and selling stolen weapons to the Vietcong. Things start to go wrong when the aircraft on which is due to fly back with the prisoner to Tan Son Nhut, outside Saigon, is destroyed by enemy shellfire. The shells do more than damage the aircraft. They uncover the body of an American officer in a hastily dug grave. A murder has been committed on the combat base, unusual even in this place where imminent death is every marine’s constant companion. The troops blame ARVN for the murder, threatening the morale of the defenders.

Ordered to investigate, Yeager refuses. His orders are to return to Saigon with the prisoner. The deputy commander of the base points out the man is due for execution anyway, so he ends Yeager’s mission with a field execution. Leaving him free to investigate. Not everyone is satisfied. Emerging from his temporary sleeping quarters, he comes face-to-face with a Claymore mine. Later that day another murder victim is found in the armory. Faced with a murderer on the loose, they assign an army ranger to watch his back. Yet there is worse to come. The investigation demands he ascends to an outpost, Hill 871, to interview a witness. In time to encounter shelling, a strong attack by NVA infantry, and an unexpected reporter - a female - chasing down a story about defective M-16 rifles. Warrant Officer Carl Yeager pursues the tortuous threads presented to him, looking for a solution that may not exist in a place where the solution to most things is death. 

Under Siege is brought to you by the best-selling author Eric Meyer, author of the popular SEAL Team Bravo stories, Heroes of Afghanistan, Raider, Echo Six, and Devil's Guard titles.

©2019 Eric Meyer (P)2020 Swordworks
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.