Amherst Island

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 66 ratings

The Orphan's Island Publisher's Summary

1904: Ellen Copley is still a child when she leaves behind the sooty rail yards of Glasgow and crosses the Atlantic Ocean with a heart full of dreams. Yet within weeks of their arrival in America, her father has disappeared - leaving Ellen with resentful relatives, feeling alone and scared for her future.

But then her kind Aunt Rose invites Ellen to stay with her large family in their rambling house on beautiful Amherst Island, which nestles like a jewel in the blue waters of Lake Ontario.

There Ellen finally begins to find the love and acceptance she has long been craving - both from Aunt Rose’s boisterous family and from the boys next door, Jed and Lucas Lyman. It’s Jed she’s drawn to...the one with the twinkling eyes, who teases her, and laughs with her, and soon steals her heart....

But does Jed love her back? Because - even though Amherst Island feels like home - Ellen knows she can’t stay there with a broken heart....

This is the first book in the unmissable Amherst Island Trilogy that follows the life and love of Ellen Copley from the magic of Lake Ontario to the bloody battlefields of the First World War and beyond. Perfect for fans of The Oceans Between Us, The Orphan Sisters, and My Name is Eva.

Previously published as Down Jasper Lane.

©2020 Kate Hewitt (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.