Showing results by author "Thomas Larson"


All Categories

1 results
Sort by
    • The Saddest Music Ever Written

    • The Story of Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings
    • By: Thomas Larson
    • Narrated by: Gregory St. John
    • Length: 7 hrs and 46 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      2 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      3 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      2 out of 5 stars 1

    An exploration of the cultural impact of Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings, the Piet of music, and its enigmatic composer. In the first book ever to explore Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings, music and literary critic Thomas Larson tells the story of the prodigal composer, his seminal masterpiece and its fascinating history as America's secular hymn for grieving our dead.

    Regular price: $19.95