Showing results by author "Langdon Cook"

Categories

All Categories

3 results
Sort by
    • The Mushroom Hunters

    • On the Trail of an Underground America
    • By: Langdon Cook
    • Narrated by: Kevin Free
    • Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 275
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 243
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 239

    Within the dark corners of America’s forests grow culinary treasures. Chefs pay top dollar to showcase these elusive and beguiling ingredients on their menus. Whether dressing up a filet mignon with smoky morels or shaving luxurious white truffles over pasta, the most elegant restaurants across the country now feature an abundance of wild mushrooms. Langdon Cook embeds himself in this shadowy subculture, reporting from both rural fringes and big-city eateries.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Intriguing and full of fun!

    • By valerie s. on 09-11-13

    Regular price: $24.95

    • Upstream

    • Searching for Wild Salmon, from River to Table
    • By: Langdon Cook
    • Narrated by: John H. Mayer
    • Length: 13 hrs and 26 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 13
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 12
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 12

    Upstream is an in-depth and timely look at salmon - one of the last wild foods on our table - for fans of Susan Orlean, Mark Kurlansky and John McPhee. As the author travels to meet a variety of colorful people associated with this unique species, from Alaskan anglers to fish farm owners to four-star chefs, he reports on its remarkable place at the intersection of nature, commerce, cuisine, and human history.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Really interesting book

    • By Anthoni R. on 02-26-18
    • Searching for Wild Salmon, from River to Table
    • By: Langdon Cook
    • Narrated by: John H. Mayer
    • Length: 13 hrs and 26 mins
    • Release date: 05-30-17
    • 5 out of 5 stars 13 ratings

    Regular price: $31.50

    • I'll Catch the Sun

    • Memoirs and Musings of a Nudist
    • By: Richard Langdon Cook
    • Narrated by: Richard Langdon Cook
    • Length: 5 hrs and 39 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 15
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 10
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 10

    An entertaining listen about 'life', written by a well-traveled man who simply prefers to be 'Outside' his clothes rather than 'In' them. This is an audiobook for anyone who loves the sun and the joys of 'skinny dipping', or who wants to. Travel with Richard on a global journey, sharing his nude experiences in the Mediterranian, Japan, Hawaii, South Africa, the Caribbean, and the United States.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A Most Charming Book by a Wonderful Author

    • By Septimus MacGhilleglas on 12-30-10

    Regular price: $18.90