Showing results by author "Cathy Sharp"

Categories

All Categories

6 results
Sort by
    • The Girl in the Ragged Shawl

    • The Children of the Workhouse, Book 1
    • By: Cathy Sharp
    • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
    • Length: 9 hrs and 19 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 2

    Eliza was left as a small baby at the workhouse in Whitechapel, wrapped in her mother’s shawl, which is all she has of the mother she never knew. At 11 years old, she has survived sickness, near starvation and harsh beatings. Master Simpkins and his cruel daughter rule the workhouse with a rod of iron, but when Romany boy Joe arrives at the workhouse, his spirit and courage give Eliza hope. When she is sold into service, Eliza is relieved to be out of the workhouse and hopes her fortunes are changing for the better, but cruelty and unkindness are everywhere....

    Regular price: $14.18

    • Christmas for the Halfpenny Orphans

    • Halfpenny Orphans, Book 3
    • By: Cathy Sharp
    • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
    • Length: 12 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    A gritty and compelling drama from the best-selling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Sheila Jeffries. Little twin sisters Sarah and Samantha are all alone in the world. When their mother died giving birth to Sarah, she was blamed for the death by her father, and her learning difficulties serve only to make him more angry and violent towards her.

    Regular price: $13.85

    • An Orphan’s Courage

    • By: Cathy Sharp
    • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
    • Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 1

    St Saviours children’s home in London’s East End has provided a safe refuge for local children for decades, and Sister Beatrice and her team are as busy as ever. New staff member Jinny is glad to escape the lewd advances of her drunken and slovenly mother’s rotten boyfriends, but can she prove she isn’t a chip off the old block? As ever, the staff are tested when orphaned brother and sister Andy and Beth are brought to the home - they are clearly terrified of something, and Andy refuses to be sent home, but can Sister Beatrice get to the bottom of their story before they are returned to their stepfather?

    Regular price: $14.18

    • The Boy with the Latch Key

    • Halfpenny Orphans, Book 4
    • By: Cathy Sharp
    • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
    • Length: 11 hrs and 19 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2

    Heartache and hardship in London's East End, from the best-selling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street. It's the 1950s, and the orphans of Halfpenny Street have found a new home in the Essex countryside at Halfpenny House. Meanwhile, back among the slum clearances of Bethnal Green, St Saviour's has now been partially given over to a home for disturbed girls, though it still serves as a reception centre for local children who are in desperate need. Amongst these are Archie and his sister, June.

    Regular price: $13.85

    • The Orphans of Halfpenny Street

    • Children's Home, Book 1
    • By: Cathy Sharp
    • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
    • Length: 14 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Katie Flynn. St Saviour's will never turn a homeless child away.... When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour's will give them hope.... It's 1948, and London's East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour's Children's Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children, and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door....

    Regular price: $14.97

    • The Little Runaways

    • Children's Home, Book 2
    • By: Cathy Sharp
    • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
    • Length: 13 hrs and 29 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    A gritty drama that will appeal to fans of The Throwaway Children and authors Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale. When little Terry and Nancy arrive at the door of St Saviour's Children's Home, they seem shell-shocked after being orphaned in the fire that killed their parents. Terry is terribly damaged by his experiences, though the concerned staff, especially Angela Morton, suspect that there is something more sinister behind his disturbing behaviour.

    Regular price: $18.32