Regular price: $21.81

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Sarah Hilary calls Isabelle Grey's books 'compelling and compassionate'. A must-listen for fans of Susie Steiner, Clare Mackintosh, Serial, Making a Murderer and S-Town.

A cold case leads DI Grace Fisher on the hunt for the most dangerous killer of her career - but after 25 years, can she really be sure she will get to the truth?

The same night a local hero saved two people from the burning Marineland resort in Southend, a young woman was raped and murdered minutes from the scene of the fire, the culmination of a series of brutal rapes in the town. The killer was never found.

Twenty-five years on, new DNA techniques have blown the cold case open. DI Grace Fisher relishes the prospect of finally catching the culprit, but when the evidence doesn't point to one clear suspect, she must reconstruct the original investigation. Any suggestion that the Essex force was less than thorough at the time could alienate her colleagues and destroy her chances of reaching the truth.

Grace finds her investigation shadowed by a young true-crime podcaster backed by veteran crime reporter Ivo Sweatman. As pressure mounts she cannot afford to be distracted. She knows that a cold-blooded killer is slowly being backed into a corner, and a cornered predator is often the most dangerous of all....

©2018 Isabelle Grey (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic Reviews

"Sympathetic and suspense-packed." (Sunday Times

"A classy, satisfying read, superbly put together." (Mari Hannah) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cathryn B.
  • 07-10-18

Excellent

Another excellent book by Isabelle Grey. Brilliant story which kept on and on. Very well narrated.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-09-18

Excellent in all aspects

This is one of the best novels I have read in years!

The story evolves around two main characters who cannot be more different from one another but in a way also share similarities. This book tells stories happening around ordinary families, their day to day life, their ups and downs -- sounds mundane but yet keeps you on your toes the whole time!

Apart from superb story telling, I somehow also find the book quite enlightening -- niceness and compassion can go a long way! Also, no matter what happens as long as you are willing to pick yourself up where you have fallen, the future is always bright.

I am now listening to it for the second time =)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • eddy
  • 10-18-18

super

brilliantly narrated, brilliant story although it becomes a bit obvious halfway through.
but it gets hold of you and won't let go

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • RP P.
  • 09-28-18

25yrs ago fire mystery book

Good movement through the years and great narration. Ok story line - not that capturing - too many threads to hold together - not believable for some reason

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Dorothy
  • 09-28-18

So-So story made worse by narration

Having listened to a lot of audiobooks, I know how much difference the narration makes to one's overall response to the books. This book was fairly run of the mill, but was made more tedious by the narrator. To make matters worse, she didn't know how to pronounce sub judice. Surely when an audiobook is made, someone should listen to the whole performance to check for mistakes, in the same way that a proof reader would check for written errors.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Clairerio
  • 09-28-18

Really enjoyed it.

one of the better audiobooks I've heard, didn't want it to end. Although I guessed the main 'perpetrator' very early on there was enough in it to keep me listening. I felt the author really built up the main characters so you get to know them.
The narrators voice was perfect, giving emphasis in exactly the right places. could listen to her all day.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Queenie75
  • 09-25-18

Predictable

This is meant with great respect but it was easy to see the plot from the first few chapters. I wanted to abandon ship but hung on in the hope there would be a terrific twist but it never came and neither did the holes get filled. Beautiful narration though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • 09-21-18

Really enjoyed this

It’s quite short for an audiobook at around 8 hours but it was good. I didn’t want it to end! I’ll definitely read more from this author

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-18-18

gripping

The narrator was easy to listen to and the story, although initially seeming predictable, ended up being gripping..

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ken
  • 09-12-18

So annoying

So annoying the "The Stories from the Fire" did my head in when they kept interrupting the story. Was going to return the book till I started to skip passed the chapters with them in. But it did spoil my enjoyment of the book overall.