Your audiobook is waiting…

Wild Game

My Mother, Her Lover, and Me
Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (1,024 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart
A searing, indelible memoir of an extraordinary mother and her equally extraordinary daughter. Among Adrienne Brodeur's many achievements in Wild Game - beautiful prose, a riveting story, elegantly told - what I found most moving is the love threaded through every page of this unforgettable book.

About the Creator

Adrienne Brodeur began her career in publishing as the cofounder, with filmmaker Francis Ford Coppola, of National Magazine Award-winning Zoetrope: All-Story. She has worked as a book editor and is currently the executive director of Aspen Words, a program of the Aspen Institute. She lives in Cambridge and on Cape Cod.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    696
  • 4 Stars
    209
  • 3 Stars
    71
  • 2 Stars
    30
  • 1 Stars
    18

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    751
  • 4 Stars
    148
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    10

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    637
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    82
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    21

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Maybe the problem is it was oversold

An interesting enough memoir. Felt like something written for a workshop or a literary magazine. The writing was great, but the story itself had very little meat. I'm sure writing it helped the author work through her issues, but it wasn't really "unforgettable" or "wild" for the reader.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Rich People Behaving Badly

First of all, if Julia Whelan reads it, listen to it. Even this lump of a memoir.

Adrienne Brodeur, old-money wealthy, daughter of the Mayflower, educated at private schools designed to keep the ultra rich kids away from the just-folks kids, presents us with a recounting of her mother's 12-year affair with her stepfather's best friend. Brodeur's mother chooses her only daughter (14 when the affair begins) as a confidante and co-conspirator. By book's end, there are divorces, promises made and promises broken, confusing and contradictory descriptionis of attempts at self-discovery, mental illness, tantrums, petulance, and a whole lot of butter.
It is difficult to empathize with this incredibly priveleged young woman who spends a gap year lazing about in Maui, drops boyfriends like old Sperry Topsiders, grows up in an 11-bedroom house but declares her 500 sq. ft. solo apartment in Manhattan "cozy." She describes the horror of living in a busy Murray Hill neighborhood, next door to a take-out Indian restaurant, but guess what!? She luuvvvvvvvvvs it. It's so much better than Being Rich, right?

I am sorry that Ms. Brodeur had a less-than emotionally perfect childhood. Many of us do. One hopes that a memoir reveals truths, complexities of relationships, perspective. Brodeur hands us tired excuses for bad behavior, and a plodding "one thing after another" pace. She conveniently ignores her brother and step-siblings and other extended family, who might have had interesting opinions to offer. By the final chapter I was begging for this family visit to end. The most interesting part of listening to WIld Game was the quick bit of research I did on my own to figure out just who Brodeur is, and who her high society parents and stepparents really were. Her lineage may be impressive, but "Rennie," as she is called by her family, spends a good deal of time stamping her foot and wanting it NOW!

Don't worry, a movie is in the works. Of course.

27 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A new favorite!!

Every so often I like to take a break from my typical book preference of fiction and/or suspense and instead listen/read a memoir or non fiction. But I am very picky and if it’s not immediately captivating I am bored and will find myself searching for a new book. The Glass Castle really started my love for dysfunctional family memoirs or incredible stories of survival against all odds. This one does not disappoint!!! You won’t be able to stop listening! And as always Julia Whelan hit it out of the park. Don’t let the summary fool you, this book isn’t just your run of the mill marital affair story! This is something else! And it’s a winner!!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Leah
  • Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
  • 10-17-19

The kind of book you want to savour

I didn’t want it to end.
This was a beautiful story.
It read like fiction. I literally couldn’t stop listening.
Thank You Adrienne Brodeur for being so open in telling the story of your long, complicated life and how your life and love was so influenced and so tangled up in your mother. What is it with Mothers and daughters!?? I could fully and wholeheartedly relate.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You can't make this stuff up!

Not since Alexandra Fuller have I read such a riveting read. I don't want to put it down and I do not want the book to end. When I first read the review on Wild Game, prior to it's release on Audible, I have had this on pre-order. I was not disappointed.

Fans of Fuller's 'Don't Lets Go To The Dogs Tonight' and 'Cocktail Hour Under The Tree of Forgiveness' will love this memoir. Brodeur's book is ever bit as riveting. As I listen all I can think of, and I am not a movie goer, being an avid reader 'listener' is that this book has GOT to be made into a movie.

Although I have nearly 400 titles in my Audible library, I think this is the first Julia Whelan narrated book I have listened to. I think I have found a new favorite narrator. There is never any confusion about which character is speaking. Julia makes them all come alive. I particularly loved how she portrayed Malabar.

30 of 36 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Outstanding!

I loved every minute of it and the narration. Tugged at my soul; I could feel the writer. Outstanding! Well Done, Congrats !

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Broken chains

So interesting to me the boundary violations, the secrets, and the impact on the young woman who bore them. I loved this tale—“don’t tell anyone okay? Let this be our secret!”

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating Story

At first I questioned whether I would enjoy this book or whether it would be one of those I never finished. A few minutes in, and I was hooked. Julia Whelan does it again, providing an excellent narration to an intruiguing story.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unputdownable!

This unforgettable memoir is written like fiction and kept me listening all day! Each character has both superpowers and flaws and the storyline has you laughing one minute, deeply reflecting the next, and feeling anger toward one of the characters moments later. Knowing that this is a memoir and it is real life caused me to empathize with each of the characters in different ways. The narrator does a great job and i think she also narrated Educated by Tara Westover. Overall, I would put this on my top 5 of the year. It offers insights into life and human behavior that is reminiscent of a modern-day work of Shakespeare.

27 of 33 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exemplary ❤️

This book was almost lyrical in its ability to draw you in. The ride was fantastic. I enjoyed it so much and look forward to reading more of Brodeur’s work.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful