Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Amazon best seller Pam Howes comes a heartbreaking World War Two novel about a young woman trying to make the best of history’s darkest hour. Is a happy ever after impossible? 

Liverpool, 1943. For Bella Rogers, life is looking up. She loves performing with The Bryant Sisters, the trio of singers who have become the country’s sweethearts, putting a smile on the faces of the brave boys fighting the Nazis. But then tragedy strikes when a telegram arrives: Bella’s beloved father has been killed in France. 

Unlike her poor Mam, Bella has someone to share her grief with. Her childhood love Bobby is home from the war. He lost a leg, but she counts her blessings every day that he’s alive when so many young men haven’t made it back. Bella longs to give her heart to Bobby, but she is hiding a secret that may change their lives forever. Will he still love her if she reveals the truth? 

But when bombs screech down on Victory Street in the middle of the night, blowing houses apart, Bella may lose both the home she loves and the family that means everything to her. With so much loss around her, will Bella be brave enough to snatch her chance of happiness? And when the war is finally over, will wedding bells ring out on Victory Street again? 

An utterly heart-wrenching historical novel that will have you completely hooked. You’ll lose yourself in this gorgeous wartime story of love, loss, and family secrets. Perfect for fans of Wives of War, Nadine Dorries, and Nancy Revell. 

Listeners absolutely adore Pam Howes! 

"Pulled me in and made it utterly impossible for me to put down. A heartbreaking story.... I really haven’t been able to put this one down and found I had devoured the entire book in just one sitting. It really did pull me in. I have loved this book so much, I wish I could give it five hundred stars." (Little Miss Book Lover 87)

"I absolutely loved this book, loved the flow of the story, loved the characters and loved getting lost into another world while reading it.... A heartbreaking story but one that gets you so engaged in it you cannot put it down.... Will keep you reading and enjoying right to the very last page, where you will be disappointed that it hasn’t carried on, and on.... And will desperately want more." (Vicki I Love Reading UK)

"The story pulled at my heartstrings.... Within a few chapters I was hooked and could feel myself experiencing the air raids, the damp dark basements and the sadness of loss and grief alongside all the characters.... I wiped tears away…and have laughed and smiled along with them. I can’t wait for the next book in the series.... If you love a really good wartime saga, then this is definitely the book for you! I loved it, and would highly recommend it!" (Stardust Book Reviews)

©2020 Pam Howes (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Wedding Bells on Victory Street

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 02-09-21

Wedding Bells on Victory Street

Love all of Pam Howes books. You feel very quickly that you know all of the characters and you just can't bear to leave the book down.