adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

If you live in Ridgeview Pines, the first thing you do every morning is check The Neighbor List....

In the pretty, leafy suburb of Ridgeview Pines everyone uses an online message board called The Neighbor List to find out everything that’s happening locally. It makes people feel safe and protected, part of a small and caring community.

Jessica Millstone recently moved to the area with her husband and young daughter, and signs up immediately. She loves her warm, inclusive new neighborhood.

So when Barbara Draper - who lived two doors down from Jessica and posted on the message board regularly - is found dead, everyone assumes it must be a tragic accident. Nothing bad could happen in their neighborhood.

Jessica wants to think the best of the people around her. She tries not to remember how upset the neighbors had been about the things Barbara wrote on the board. Or the scream she heard when she walked her dog, on the night Barbara was killed. She doesn’t want to believe anyone would have hurt Barbara on purpose.

But then Jessica receives a private message on The Neighbor List, that sends chills down her spine. Enjoy your perfect family.

There’s someone who has been hiding a secret behind their brightly-colored front door. Someone who has already killed to keep that secret. And someone who wants to make sure Jessica doesn’t try to find out anything more.... 

An utterly gripping psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of The Mother-in-Law, The Woman in the Window, and Big Little Lies.

©2021 Laura Wolfe (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"WOW!! Just wow! Mind-blowing, jaw-dropping, gripping.... Once you pick up the book you just can’t put it down.... My jaw was locked open.... Never did I imagine that ending." (Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews)

"Completely gripping.... An absolutely sensational read which had me hooked from page one. It had me guessing throughout...unputdownable and addictive! I completely devoured it." (Bookworm86)

"Wow! That was one suspenseful and thrilling read. I’m still at a loss for words...one of the best psychological thrillers that I’ve read...five stars from me. A sensational read." (Books Only)

What listeners say about We Live Next Door

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The narrator sounded like a computer program

The narrator reminds you of one of those robotic computer voices and then oddly changes her approach in some of the later chapters.

The writing was unimaginative. No character development. I can barely recall the main character’s name.

I gave the story 2 stars just for the potential. The plot idea around a neighborhood app similar to “Nextdoor” where people share info, gossip, and complain and then a poster/neighbor who they all dislike suddenly dies could have been a good whodunit story. However, it was so poorly executed and convoluted that you almost forget what the book is trying to accomplish.

1 person found this helpful