1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $23.95

Buy for $23.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Newbery Honor Book

"A captivating story about family’s enduring bonds.” (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

“Another wondrous title from a remarkably talented author.” (Booklist, starred review)

“A 10 out of 10. Anyone interested in science, sibling relationships, and friendships will enjoy reading We Dream of Space.” (Time for Kids)

Newbery Medalist and New York Times best-selling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports listeners to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle-grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. A great choice for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca Stead.

Great for summer listening or anytime! A Today show pick for "25 Children’s Books Your Kids and Teens Won’t Be Able to Put Down This Summer"!

Cash, Fitch, and Bird Thomas are three siblings in seventh grade together in Park, Delaware. In 1986, as the country waits expectantly for the launch of the Space Shuttle Challenger, they each struggle with their own personal anxieties.

Cash, who loves basketball but has a newly broken wrist, is in danger of failing seventh grade for the second time. Fitch spends every afternoon playing Major Havoc at the arcade on Main and wrestles with an explosive temper that he doesn’t understand. And Bird, his 12-year-old twin, dreams of being NASA’s first female shuttle commander but feels like she’s disappearing.

The Thomas children exist in their own orbits, circling a tense and unpredictable household, with little in common except an enthusiastic science teacher named Ms. Salonga. As the launch of the Challenger approaches, Ms. Salonga gives her students a project - they are separated into spacecraft crews and must create and complete a mission. When the fated day finally arrives, it changes all of their lives and brings them together in unexpected ways.

Told in three alternating points of view, We Dream of Space is an unforgettable and thematically rich novel for middle-grade listeners.

©2020 Erin Entrada Kelly (P)2020 HarperAudio

What listeners say about We Dream of Space

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Breathless

I am left breathless after finishing this audiobook. There is so much heart in this story, and even though it takes place in the early 1980’s, it is so relevant today. Highly recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worthy of the Newberry

Your favorite medication. Family struggles are real and complex. Reminds me a little bit of A Bridge to Terabithia.