Your audiobook is waiting…

Unwifeable

Narrated by: Mandy Stadtmiller
Length: 9 hrs and 19 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (112 ratings)
Regular price: $18.89
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the popular, "candid and bold, tender and tough" (Cheryl Strayed) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind and "gutsy" (Courtney Love) memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller's unflinching candor and brilliant wit.

My story is not unique. Single girl comes to New York; New York eats her alive. But what does stand out is my discovery that you can essentially live a life that appears to be a textbook manual for everything one can do wrong to find love - and still find Mr. Right.

Mandy Stadtmiller came to Manhattan in 2005, newly divorced, 30 years old, with a job at the New York Post, ready to conquer the city and the industry in one fell swoop. Like a "real-life Carrie Bradshaw" (so called by Jenny McCarthy), she proceeded to chronicle her fearless attempts for nearly a decade in the Post, New York magazine, and xoJane.

But underneath the glitz and glamour of her new life, there is a darker side threatening to surface. She goes through countless failed high-profile hookups in the New York comedy and writing scene. There are soon too many nights she can't remember, and the blind spots start to add up. She begins to realize that falling in love won't fix her - she needs to fix herself first.

Unwifeable is a New York fairytale brought to life - Sex and the City on acid. With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a "blisteringly candid" (Sarah Hepola, New York Times best-selling author of Blackout) book that you can't help but respond and relate to - perfect for fans of Amy Schumer and Chelsea Handler.

©2018 Mandy Stadtmiller (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Good

as much as I loved the book, the interview at the end was the best! great touch. thanks for writing

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Whine, whine, whine

The author should not narrate she has a very irritating voice. I kept waiting for her story to become interesting, and gave up after three chapters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I'm from Western Nebraska

I loved it, found you through Pat whom I found on Compound Media. Soul bearing honesty. I will never put my dad in a home but no guarantees to my mom. She'll out live us anyway.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mandy is 'MY hero' '!!!

So impeccably done. And brave. I just finished this story and in between the tears gushing out of my eyes are moments of laughter due to the genuine happiness I am feeling. Complete, utter catharsis. So many instances in which I found we had a LOT in common (sexual experiences, ways of thinking, feeling, reacting/responding to people/situations...drugs...men...ourselves... to name a few) that I feel like I've known this person my whole life...turns out, that person is me!! Just listening to some of her revelations/realizations and how they could apply to/applied to my own warped way of thinking/feeling/responding to myself, sex, love, others was not only educational and hugely therapeutic (for me) but moving, uplifting,...freeing. I think this is a MUST read for anyone dating, married, FWB'-ing, or even thinking about dating, marriage, FWB'-ING - hell, whatevering - BOTH men and women have something to gain from Mandy's beautifully intelligent mind, sense of humor, insight, experiences, honesty... Mandy, thanks SO MUCH for sharing!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So relatable!

Well spoken. Well written. Attention grabbing. Entertaining. 100% worth it! Took me 3 days to finish this! Love love love! ♥️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unfiltered Brilliance

I have a deep appreciation for Mandy’s story, and I LOVE that she narrates it herself. Hearing the words of her story in her own voice is moving. This probably isn’t everyone’s “cup of tea,” but I was invested from the very beginning. If you want something raw and real, this is it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Raw and real!

Loved this amazing journey and how brutally honest Mandy is in telling it. I’ve recommended to friends; some who need it and some who can relate to it in some level - all of them will love it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dinty
  • Kansas City, MO USA
  • 08-27-18

Hero or Villian

The most intimate, self depricating look at anyone I've ever read. It will continously make you cringe in the most delightful ways.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun, powerful, honest

Fun, powerful, honest. Great book, amazing audiobook, humorous and insightful. Knew it would be funny, but was surprised and pleased with the honest and real message. As a punk rock party girl turned wife, mom, and nurse I found this book a perfect combo of coffee with a girlfriend recounting horrors of coming of age and therapeutic wisdom. thank you other Mandy

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart-wrenching, relatable, triumphant

I am so glad she opened the book the way she did. Her story is turbulent and heart-breaking at times. I constantly found myself cheering for her and feeling sorrowful and protective during her more difficult times. The way she tells the story makes you feel as if you are right along side her as it's happening. Her message is clear and one worth hearing for any woman that struggles with assigning self-worth directly in correlation with their romantic relationships. Also, it was not lost on me that her performance tone changes with the emotional tone of the book. Well done!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • chris
  • 03-03-19

Brilliant & Inspiring. My favourite Audible book.

Mandy's narration is beautifully expressed. Searingly honest & inspiring. I needed to hear this book at this moment in my life.