Unwifeable

Narrated by: Mandy Stadtmiller
Length: 9 hrs and 19 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (180 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the popular, "candid and bold, tender and tough" (Cheryl Strayed) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind and "gutsy" (Courtney Love) memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller's unflinching candor and brilliant wit.

My story is not unique. Single girl comes to New York; New York eats her alive. But what does stand out is my discovery that you can essentially live a life that appears to be a textbook manual for everything one can do wrong to find love - and still find Mr. Right.

Mandy Stadtmiller came to Manhattan in 2005, newly divorced, 30 years old, with a job at the New York Post, ready to conquer the city and the industry in one fell swoop. Like a "real-life Carrie Bradshaw" (so called by Jenny McCarthy), she proceeded to chronicle her fearless attempts for nearly a decade in the Post, New York magazine, and xoJane.

But underneath the glitz and glamour of her new life, there is a darker side threatening to surface. She goes through countless failed high-profile hookups in the New York comedy and writing scene. There are soon too many nights she can't remember, and the blind spots start to add up. She begins to realize that falling in love won't fix her - she needs to fix herself first.

Unwifeable is a New York fairytale brought to life - Sex and the City on acid. With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a "blisteringly candid" (Sarah Hepola, New York Times best-selling author of Blackout) book that you can't help but respond and relate to - perfect for fans of Amy Schumer and Chelsea Handler.

©2018 Mandy Stadtmiller (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about Unwifeable

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    116
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    18
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    12
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    16

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Good

as much as I loved the book, the interview at the end was the best! great touch. thanks for writing

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Whine, whine, whine

The author should not narrate she has a very irritating voice. I kept waiting for her story to become interesting, and gave up after three chapters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart-wrenching, relatable, triumphant

I am so glad she opened the book the way she did. Her story is turbulent and heart-breaking at times. I constantly found myself cheering for her and feeling sorrowful and protective during her more difficult times. The way she tells the story makes you feel as if you are right along side her as it's happening. Her message is clear and one worth hearing for any woman that struggles with assigning self-worth directly in correlation with their romantic relationships. Also, it was not lost on me that her performance tone changes with the emotional tone of the book. Well done!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deeply insightful.

I loved this book! My ex bought me this book as a sort of joke. I put off reading it for a long time because of the implications I thought it had. But I guess the joke is on him as he is now my ex after I found out he cheated, and this book actually helped me through a lot opening my eyes about many things. It's so open and honest. It takes a deep look into what it can be like as a woman that suffered trauma at a young age and is damaged because of it. The journey it takes to find your true self and love yourself first. Although all of our stories my not be as intense there are so many things that echoe in our lives. I would recommend this book to any woman that needs to find herself and brake bad habits. We all need to let go of the hurt and shame dig deep and grow threw it into the amazing women we can be inspite of all the crap we have been threw. Self forgiveness and love can heal all wounds.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Was so looking forward to this book, disappointed

Comparing this to Sex In The City is like comparing Skechers shoes to Manolo Blahniks

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I'm from Western Nebraska

I loved it, found you through Pat whom I found on Compound Media. Soul bearing honesty. I will never put my dad in a home but no guarantees to my mom. She'll out live us anyway.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

I would not recommend them s book. It Is the worst I’ve read thus far.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

wow! so many moments i could relate too. the shame is a big one for me. thanks for sharing this incredible honest story.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

it just wasn't great

I just could not get into it. the whole thing was kind of blah, but I didn't get any farther than the fifth chapter. maybe it would have gotten better if I had stayed with it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hilariously provocatively amazing

I truly wasn’t sure what to expect out of this book as it’s not the type that I usually go for a more of a let’s do a history lesson novel type of person I am so glad that I downloaded this book and I could not stop listening the subject line says it all do you some favor start it and then just kick back and enjoy the shower

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for chris
  • chris
  • 03-03-19

Brilliant & Inspiring. My favourite Audible book.

Mandy's narration is beautifully expressed. Searingly honest & inspiring. I needed to hear this book at this moment in my life.